An Waray declared as winner

-A A +A

Saturday, May 25, 2013

TACLOBAN CITY – The Commission on Elections(Comelec), sitting as National Board of Canvasser (NBOC), has proclaimed An Waray party-list as one of the 14 winners in the May 13 midterm polls.

Representative Neil Benedict Montejo said the party-list garnered more than 540,000 votes, which guarantee them one congressional seat.

During the 2010 elections, the An Waray was able to secure two congressional seats as represented by Montejo and Representative Florencio “Bem” Noel.


Noel, who was on his third and last term as a congressman representing the party-list group, ran, but lost for mayor of Tacloban.

“About 85 percent of An Waray votes were delivered by the people of Eastern Visayas. We are thankful for the confidence of people from Region 8,” Montejo said in a phone interview.

“We are so grateful that our people continue to give us their trust and support,” he added.

According to Montejo, their good track record for the last nine years could be the reason why An Waray was able to get elected during the May 13 elections.

A party-list must get at least two percent of the total votes cast for the party-list in order to win a seat.

The probability to gain another seat, according to Montejo, will depend on the Supreme Court ruling on disqualification cases of 12 other party-list groups.

“If the Supreme Court will decide (against these party-list groups), there is a possibility that we can still gain another seat,” Montejo, who is now serving his second term, said.

Also proclaimed as winners by the Comelec were Buhay, A Teacher, Bayan Muna, 1-CARE, Akbayan, Ako Bicol, Abono, Gabriela, Coop-Natcco, Agap, OFW Family, Cibac, and Magdalo.

About 95 percent of the total votes for party- list were counted by the NBOC during Friday morning’s proclamation.

The 540,000 votes for An Waray in this year’s polls were lower than the 711,000 votes garnered by the party-list in 2010 elections.

“This is not surprising because there was a decrease in the number of votes for party-list this year. The number one group, Buhay, got 1.2 million votes, lower than the 1.5 million votes garnered by Ako Bicol, the topnotcher in the previous elections,” Montejo said.

The solon admitted that this year’s election is more challenging as two party-list groups have gained popularity in Eastern Visayas. Still, he said, An Waray was able to pull it through, saying that it was ranked number one in all six provinces in the region.

Aside from An Waray, other party-list groups and their nominees who come from the region were Aangat Tayo of Representative Darlyn Grace Abayon, wife of Harlin, Northern Samar’s 1st district congressman-elect.

Pwersa ng Bayaning Atleta (PBA) party-list has topped in few areas of Eastern Samar and Samar. Its nominee, Sol Angelie Libanan, an incumbent councilor of Taft town, is a daughter of former Eastern Samar Representative Marcelino Libanan. (Leyte Samar Daily Express)

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!