Comelec official: 5,000 polling centers re-clustered

-A A +A

Friday, April 19, 2013

LAWYER Veronico Petalcorin, Comelec-Eastern Visayas assistant regional director, confirmed that about 5,000 voting precincts in Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Leyte and Southern Leyte were re-clustered.

“We have already re-clustered precincts to generate an average of 1,000 voters per voting precinct. One voting precinct has one precinct count optical scan (PCOS) machine,” Petalcorin said in a media forum held at the regional office of the Philippine Information Agency.

Petalcorin admitted the re-clustering may affect voter’s turnout, but said he is confident that the election officers of the concerned areas already informed the voters.


“We had enough time notifying the voters. We have posted a new list of voters per re-clustered precinct,” the Comelec official said.

Voters may check their precinct assignments on the Commission on Elections (Comelec) website’s precinct finder feature.

Petalcorin said they needed precinct re-clustering to maximize the utilization of the poll body’s resources.

In its resolution dated January 28, the commission en banc ordered the re-clustering of several precincts, because of the small number of its registered voters.

“In order to maximize the utilization of the Commission’s logistical, financial and manpower resources in the forthcoming May 13 elections, it is imperative to resort to a different clustering scheme,” Petalcorin said.

The other provinces where precincts were re-clustered include Abra, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Aklan, Antique, Apayao, Basilan, Benguet, Bohol, Bukidnon, Cagayan, Camarines Sur, Capiz, Catanduanes, Cebu, Davao del Sur, Ifugao, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Iloilo, Isabela, and Laguna.

Also included were Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Marinduque, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Occidental Mindoro, Palawan, Quezon, Qui¬rino, Rizal, Romblon, Siquijor, Sultan Kudarat, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Zamboanga del Norte, and Zamboanga del Sur.

From these provinces, a total of 122 towns and municipalities were affected by the re-grouping.

In its original rule, the Comelec said the clustering should only be implemented to a maximum of seven precincts, should be in similar voting centers, and not have more than 1,000 registered voters.

“The election officers (EOs) shall give written notices of the change in the location of the voting centers to the affected registered voters and authorized representatives of political parties,” the Comelec Resolution 9624 stated. (Leyte Samar Daily Express)

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam