The City Treasurer

-A A +A

By Benjie R. Pangan

At Close Range

Thursday, May 22, 2014

ONE of the most sensitive positions in the local government unit is that of the city treasurer.

The Secretary of Finance shall appoint the provincial, city and municipal treasurer from a list of at least three (3) ranking eligible recommendees of the governor or mayor, subject to civil service law, rules and regulations.

The qualifications, powers and duties of the treasurer are as follows: No person shall be appointed treasurer unless he or she is a citizen of the Philippines, a resident of the LGU concerned, of good moral character, a holder of a college degree, preferably in commerce, public administration or law from a recognized college or university and a holder of a first grade civil service eligibility or its equivalent. He/she must have acquired experience in treasury or accounting service for at least five years in the case of the provincial or city treasurer, and three years in the case of the municipal treasurer.


The treasurer shall be under the administrative supervision of the governor or mayor, as the case may be, to whom he shall report regularly on the tax collection efforts in the LGU.

The treasurer shall take charge of the treasury office, perform the duties provided under Book II of the Code and shall: (i) Advise the governor or mayor, as the case may be, the sanggunian and other local and national government officials concerned regarding disposition of local government funds and or such other matters relative to public finance; (ii) Take charge of the disbursement of all and such other funds the custody of which may be entrusted to him by law or competent authority; (iv) Inspect private commercial and industrial establishments within the jurisdiction of the LGU concerned in relation to the implementation of tax ordinance, pursuant to the provisions under Book II of the Code; (v) Maintain and update the tax information system of the LGU; (vi) In the case of the provincial treasurer, exercise technical supervision over all treasury offices of component cities and municipality; and (vii) Exercise such other powers and perform such duties and functions as may be prescribed by law or ordinance.

Mabalacat City treasurer is Mrs. Myrna S. Ocampo. She is assisted by Mrs. Marlene Molina Mendiola, the better half of Barangay Poblacion chairman Elmer "Totong" Mendiola. Designated driver of the office is Edgardo Dayao. Considering the volume and complexity of the transactions and operations of the Treasury Office, there are four divisions composing it, namely: Local Treasury Division headed by Aurora A. Rodrillo with the following staff: Alpha Divina Castro, Analyn G.Liwanag, Jennifer S. Castillo, Obed M. Castro, Alicia M. Cordero Monica G. Molina, Haidee Lou S. Ocampo, Ernesto C. Lising Jaypee Castro, Cherry Pecson, Loida David and Sherwin Phillip Canlas. The Cash Receipts Division is headed by Agnes Y. David with the following assisting: Rachel Julian de Jesus and Mae Ann Perena. The Real Property Tax Division is manned by Adelaida S. Galang, head and assisted by Amelia Liwanag, Aurea David, Aristotle N. Lumague Adoracion Balagtas, Chona Pasamonte, Shiela Marie Salas Rowena Vitug and Sharon Molina. The Permits and Licenses Division (proper) is headed by Amalia J. Carbon, Christian C. Catap, Ma. Victoria dela Cruz, Nelson Tennessee Mendoza Maybelle Arellano, Izza Monina S. Flores, Nino G. Manaloto and Jayjay A. Castillo.

Published in the Sun.Star Pampanga newspaper on May 23, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!