Gueco: Color Power

Saturday, March 14, 2015 - 05:37 p.m.

SPRINGING forth with vibrancy, colors uplift my heart, touch my deepest emotions and inspire creativity to fire up my imagination. Sizzling gold, calming green, charming red, enticing lilac, truly, the list is endless. Captivating us since the dawn of creation until the present 21st century, they enliven our spirits.

Take my case for instance, as a writer and artist; I look up at the sky for inspiration. Imprinting me with sunlit power, the blue arc of heaven is my guiding color. Surging vibes of renewal flow through my spine when I see the azure expanse while strolling.

Garcia: Sumpa, Sumpa (Promise, Curse)

Saturday, March 14, 2015 - 05:34 p.m.

"PAULI ning ika pekamakamal da kang kakaluguran, sasabyan Ku keka ing pekamapampang dake ning belwan. Pakirandaman mu Kanaku iti, pauli ning para king ikakayap mu iti.

Parati mu Kung isipan at magi kang talasuyu Ku. Samban mu Ku at midaun kang pamigalang Kanaku. Kanita dasnan Mu kung alang kamalyan. Pangaku Ku keka ini uling ika ing Kanakung pekamakamal a kakaluguran.” ~ Dalit ning Kakataskatasang Panginwan, Dangka 18, Sunis 64 at 65 (Bhagavad Gita, Chapter 18, Verses 64&65)

Pacete: Looking ahead to Panaad 2015

Saturday, March 14, 2015 - 01:05 p.m.

PANAAD Festival 2015 will be on April 13 to 19. The theme is “Negros: One Island, One Region.” This has something to do with our dream to fuse Negros Occidental and Negros Oriental as one region.

This merger will further unite Negrosanons to peace and prosperity. Gov. Alfredo Marañon Jr. hopes that his dream will come true.

Editorial: Manny’s marketing value for PH

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:42 p.m.

AMERICAN Floyd Mayweather Jr. and Filipino Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquiao showed up in a “one-and-done” press conference the other day at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles for their welterweight world championship unification bout at the MGM Grand Garden Arena on May 2 (May 3 in the Philippines).

Libre: Blurred lines

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:39 p.m.

I AM no fan of Robin Thicke nor do I like the song, “Blurred Lines.” But it has made songwriters wary, what with the successful claim of the heirs of Motown great Marvin Gaye thas Thicke and co-writers Pharell and T.I. plagiarized “Got to Give It Up.”

As a disc jockey of dyLV in the mid-’70s, I may have been among the first to play “Got to Give It Up” in Cebu radio, just before disco fever overwhelmed everyone. Gaye’s hit song had a nice groove and a “live” feel, as one could hear voices in the opening seconds.

Wenceslao: Faulty planning in Operation Exodus

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:38 p.m.

IT took me some time to finish reading the report of the Board of Inquiry (BOI) created by the Philippine National Police (PNP) to investigate the “Mamasapano incident.”

That incident refers to the Special Action Force (SAF) operation to arrest on Jan. 25, 2015 three terrorists based in Mamasapano, Maguindanao and the clash that resulted to the death of 44 SAF policemen, 18 Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) fighters, an undetermined number of Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters (BIFF) members, and five civilians.

Barrita: Land, water business won’t mix

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:37 p.m.

THE Regional Trial Court (RTC) has ordered Amparo Balili and lawyer Romeo Balili, executor of the Balili estate, to return P37.8 million to the Cebu Provincial Government, the amount the Capitol paid for what turned out to be submerged land and mangrove areas.

This should be a lesson for those who want to go into the lucrative real estate and water businesses.

Nalzaro: Buyer in good faith?

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:36 p.m.

MAKATI City Mayor Jejomar Erwin “Junjun” Binay Jr., claimed politics behind his six-month suspension by the Office of the Ombudsman. Binay and some Makati City officials are being investigated by the anti-graft office for the alleged irregularities in the construction of the city's parking building.

This came following the Senate hearings on the issue, which also implicated Junjun’s father, Vice President Jejomar Binay. The young Binay was just caught in the political crossfire as his father is a top contender for the presidential race in next year's elections.

Seares: Why most complaints fail, Which libel case can send a radio commentator to jail

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:34 p.m.

TWO separate pending libel complaints against Cebu radio broadcasters highlight the problem of public officials in suing a broadcaster:

  • A complaint against broadcaster Bobby Nalzaro, filed by former mayor and former congressman Tomas Osmeña, but not for what Nalzaro said on radio or TV but for a column he wrote for Sun.Star and Sun.Star Online;
  • A complaint against a radio block-time commentator, filed by former mayor now Provincial Board Member Thaddeus Ouano for criticisms made on radio.

Carvajal: Pointless

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:33 p.m.

IT looks like the “truth” is not coming out of the separate inquiries into the Mamasapano incident. Instead, as my editor and fellow columnist Bong Wenceslao correctly puts it, it is “headed for the Conspiracy Theory Archives,” the graveyard of “truths” nobody accepts.

Dacawi: Perennials Keeping Afloat Baguio’s Flower City Status (2nd of two parts)

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 10:59 p.m.

DRIVING around - from Burnham Park to Campo Sioco, to Military Cut-off, to Country Club Road and down to Leonard Wood Rd -, one finds valid the advocacy of former city mayor Braulio Yaranon for the propagation of bougainvilla here.

The vine is sturdy, hardly needing water and care, so unlike sensitive and fleeting annuals, even while some tend to grow slowly and may take years to bear bracts and flowers.

Dumaguing: What is shingles?

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 10:55 p.m.

SHINGLES is not as well known as chicken pox and yet the two illnesses are closely related so much so that they are collectively called varicella-zoster. After the sores of chicken pox or varicella heals, the virus lies dormant or inactive in your nerves and may later reactivate as shingles or herpes zoster. The sad reality therefore is that anyone who has had chicken pox may get shingles later on in their life.

Cariño: Cheche Lazaro at the UPB

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 10:51 p.m.

CHECHE Lazaro is at the UP Baguio auditorium as this column goes to bed. She is busy fielding questions from students who are lucky enough to get answers today straight from the horse’s mouth, so to speak. As they ask about ethics in journalism, especially considering new media.

Bautista: Peemayer

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 10:42 p.m.

WE WERE students in SPED Center when mom and dad first introduced us to some cadets. They were tall, kinda dark and handsome. Two initially were assigned to us as we will become their family for the next years. Both now carry stars on their shoulders.

Dad who was then the president of University of Baguio will always have them over at our home. The cadets and several others were always with us as my parents will throw them a party whenever they were available and with us for the weekend off.

Del Rosario: ‘What If…’

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 10:41 p.m.

THE Binibining Pilipinas competition will be held tomorrow. And Kylie Versoza, my daughter Jessica’s very good friend and former roommate is among the finalists.

Thus, don’t be surprised if Forest House, the restaurant owned by her parents, will be closed tomorrow as all their staff will be at the Araneta Coliseum to support and cheer for her.

Max: Bakasyon Grande

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 10:07 p.m.

SUMMER. Ang salitang ito'y ay maraming pagka hulugan sa marami. Sa mga batang magaaral ang ibig sabihin nito'y bakasyon. Sa mga mayayaman ibig sabihin biyahe sa ibang bansa. Sa mga pulitiko isang pahirap lalo na kung nataon ito'y panahon ng kampanya. Isplika ko mamaya.

Pangilinan: Colorful days are here again

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 10:04 p.m.

FOLLOWING the success of the 17th Philippine Hot Air Balloon Fiesta, the weekend of everything that flies, last February in Clark, colorful days are here again in Pampanga. We now look forward to another colorful weekend on March 26 to 29 for the 2nd Lubao International Balloon Festival.

Editorial: Don’t brush off the dry spell

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 08:08 p.m.

THERE is a weak El Nino forecast to linger on through Northern Hemisphere summer 2015 or until August. This is great news when compared to the anticipated very hot El Nino predicted late last year. But don’t be too quick to brush off this weak one. It still can drive the vulnerable farmers to their knees.

Valle: Whatever happens to all our peace efforts?

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 08:08 p.m.

Now, we are seemingly blind about what is happening in Maguindanao.

The greening of Iponan river

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 07:40 p.m.

IPONAN river has been a butt of jokes for quite some time: if Bohol has chocolate hills, Cagayan de Oro has chocolate river. But that is not true anymore.

Letter to the editor: Tiny, the woman warrior

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 02:43 p.m.

I WOULD like to share with you about a woman soldier whose willpower to surpass every task and challenges in life are as stylish as the neatly pressed suit worn by gentlemen.

Let us call her Tiny. Tiny is what some of her friends use to call her. She said her aunt gave her this nickname when she was young because she was very little then and beautiful (pun intended). Appropriate to the person, Tiny works diligently hard in silence to meet results the organization is deemed to yield.

Sánchez: Team tanggal

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 09:13 a.m.

FINALLY, the San Sebastian Cathedral has removed “Team Patay, Team Buhay,” that for many symbolized the disunity among Catholics in Bacolod, and perhaps elsewhere in the Philippines.

The nationally famous (or notorious) “Team Patay” poster listed the names of the candidates for senator who voted for the Reproductive Health Law while “Team Buhay” included the names of the anti-RH.

Valderrama: Encouraging emigration

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 09:13 a.m.

A COUPLE of days ago, I read an article in the BBC that suggested that the Philippines is the only nation in the world which is training its people to leave. Then I realized it’s true. The Philippines is one of the very few countries in the world that relies on foreign remittances for its economic well-being. Remittances represent 13.5 percent of our GDP – that’s about $20 billion. Let’s compare that to the industry which defines this country – agriculture, which represents 12 percent of our GDP. Apparently, our OFWs are even more important than our farmers.

Alamon: The brave women of Balit

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 11:48 p.m.

JUST last week, as we celebrated International Women's Day, we witnessed the collective power of women transcend their socially- sanctioned roles as mothers of their own respective families to become nurturers and protectors of the voiceless and oppressed in society.

Editorial: Results are coming

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 11:31 p.m.

BY THIS time, the Philippine National Police-Board of Inquiry, which looked into the bloody Mamasapano incident, has already come up with its report on the incident.

Criminal Investigation and Detection Group Director Benjamin Magalong, who heads the BOI, said the report was to be submitted to PNP officer-in-charge Leonardo Espina late yesterday afternoon.

Uyboco: Freethinking 101

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 11:30 p.m.

OVER the course of the past two years, I have had discussions with people who would say, "Oh so you're the freethinker. Ok, let's do some 'free' thinking. Let's explore these ideas," and they would proceed to make these outlandish claims. When I stop them, or point out to them why their ideas are unreasonable or illogical, they would say, "Oh but I thought you were a freethinker.

What happened to 'free' thinking? Free your mind, man." At this point, I usually proceed to give a short discourse on the history and proper use of "freethinker" and "freethinking."

Ledesma: Who will fit the shoes of Digong?

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 11:29 p.m.

WE HAVE been training our eyes on the Presidential derby alongside the Federal Movement which Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte had been nurturing and peddling all over the country.

Lest we get weary and resign to boredom, I am digressing a bit and look into the political developments that are closer to home. Davaowenyos are watching with eagle eye two areas of interest. With the results of the recent survey showing very bright prospects for Mayor Duterte's bid for President the air is pregnant with speculation.

Editorial: Talisay City traffic lights

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 11:03 p.m.

IT’S good that the Talisay City Government is planning to replace its busted traffic lights with “state-of-the-art” ones. That it plans to allocate P14 million for the purpose only shows the extent of the city’s traffic lights problem.

Roperos: Brain drain

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 11:02 p.m.

ONE report that came out in yesterday’s issue of Sun.Star Cebu and which is economically disturbing and socially alarming at the same time is its urgent suggestion that we address the migration of workers, particularly professionals, in order to improve (our) country’s labor productivity.

This assessment is according to the “First Quarter 2015 Economic Insight Report of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW),” which noted that brain drain in our country is depriving us of a labor pool.

Seares: What exactly do we want from PNoy? (2)

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 11:01 p.m.

MOST of us want President Noynoy Aquino to own up his errors in entrusting to then suspended PNP chief Alan Purisima the Mamasapano mission, heaping the blame on sacked Special Action Force (SAF) chief Getulio Napeñas, delaying artillery and air support to the beleaguered SAF, worrying more about the fate of the peace process with the rebels than the safety of the police troops, and covering up his and Purisima's failures which contributed to the debacle.