Yahoo! hails Kim Chiu ‘Celebrity of the Year’

-A A +A

Saturday, July 19, 2014

CEBUANA actress Kim Chiu has proven once again that she is a dominant force in the show business after winning three major trophies at the Yahoo! Celebrity Awards 2014 on Friday night.

Themed "Powered By You," the awardees in the 28 categories were chosen by their fans via online voting.

Aside from winning Fan Club of the Year, with love team Xian Lim, the 24-year-old actress also bagged the Actress of the Year award and the coveted Celebrity of the Year trophy. She garnered close to 750,000 votes.


Chui's primetime series "Ikaw Lamang" was also voted Teleserye of the Year, while leading man Coco Martin was hailed Actor of the Year, his third trophy from Yahoo! Celebrity Awards.

"Masaya dahil sa pangatlong pagkakataon, tinangkilik at minahal pa din ako ng tao para iboto dito. Every year nae-excite ka tumanggap ng mga parangal na ganito. kasi parang bonus at parang kabayaran sa mga pinaghirapan mo," he said.

He said the award is a validation that the audience appreciates his works.
"Ito yung kapalit ng hard work. Kung mahal mo ang trabaho mo, pagbubutihin mo, ito yung kapalit," he added.

Aside from Chui and Martin, Queen of All Media Kris Aquino and Vhong Navarro were named Female and Male TV Host of the Year, respectively, Vice Ganda and Karylle as Love Team of the Year, and Sarah Geronimo as Female Performer of the Year, among others.

Here is the complete list of winners at Yahoo! Celebrity Awards 2014:

• Celebrity of the Year: Kim Chiu
• Actor of the Year: Coco Martin
• Actress of the Year: Kim Chiu
• Social Media Star: Vice Ganda
• Male TV Host: Vhong Navarro
• Female TV Host: Kris Aquino
• Teleserye of the Year: "Ikaw Lamang"
• Male Emerging Star: JC De Vera
• Female Emerging Star: Julia Barretto
• Male Kontrabida: Jake Cuenca ("Ikaw Lamang")
• Female Kontrabida: Jennylyn Mercado ("Rhodora X")
• Male Performer: Bamboo
• Female Performer: Sarah Geronimo
• Love Team of the Year: Vice Ganda and Karylle
• Child Star of the Year: Andrea Brillantes
• Fan Club of the Year: KimXi (Kim Chiu and Xian Lim)
• News Program of the Year: "TV Patrol"
• Movie of the Year: "Bride for Rent" (Star Cinema)
• Male Hotlhlete: Jeric and Jeron Teng
• Female Hothlete: Gretchen Ho
• Celebrity Couple: Bea Binene and Jake Vargas
• Celebrity Family: Padilla Family
• Band of the Year: Parokya ni Edgar
• Emerging Band: Yolanda Moon
• Song of the Year: "Bakit Ngayon" by Julie Anne San Jose
• FM Station of the Year: Love Radio
• Male DJ: Papa Jack (Love Radio 90.7)
• Female DJ: DJ Chacha (M.O.R. 101.9 For Life)

The event was hosted by Maxine Magalona and Robi Domingo. (Sunnex)


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!