All set for Unigames 2014

-A A +A

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

A TOTAL of 40 universities and colleges in the country including 11 schools in Western Visayas, will participate in the 19th Philippine University Games (UNIGAMES) hosted by the University of San Agustin (USA) in Iloilo City slated on October 20-28, 2014.

Meanwhile, the City Council here has approved an ordinance calling for temporary on-road parking along Jalandoni Street in front of the USA gymnasium on October 18-28, 2014 for vehicles of sports enthusiasts.

Some 2,000 college athletes, some with experience and saw action in the UAAP, NCAA and Olympic competitions will participate in a weeklong games.


The 13 sporting events include athletics, badminton, basketball, chess, football, karatedo, lawn tennis, sepak takraw, swimming, table tennis, tae kwon do, volleyball and beach volleyball.

Arrival of delegates will start on October 20 with an opening ceremony on October 21. Actual games will be on October 22-28, 2014 at the USA gym and other venues in Iloilo.

Aside from the host university, other Western Visayas participating schools are Central Philippine University, Iloilo Doctors College, John B. Lacson Foundation Maritime University, all based in Iloilo City; Northern Iloilo State University in northern Iloilo; Colegio de la Purisima Concepcion, Filamer Christian University and Hercor College, all in Roxas City, Capiz; and Riverside College, University of Negros Occidental Recoletos, University of St. la Salle, VMA Global College and West Negros University, all in Bacolod City.

The other participating schools are Adamson University, Arellano University, Ateneo de Manila, de la Salle College of Saint Benilde, de la Salle University, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Lyceum of the Philippines, National University, San Beda College, Rizal Technology University and University of Perpetual Help System, all based in Metro Manila; Ateneo de Davao, Cor Jesus College, DMMA College of Southern Philippines, Holy Cross of Davao College, University of Mindanao, Jose Maria College and University of the Immaculate Conception, all in Davao; de la Salle Dasmarinas in Cavite, Father Saturnino Urios University in Butuan City, Foundation University in Dumaguete City, Holy Angel University in Pampanga, La Salle University in Ozamis City, Naga College Foundation in Naga City, University of Northern Philippines in Vigan City, University of San Jose Recoletos in Cebu and Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan de Oro.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!