PCT, Sakya-SOS bag crowns

-A A +A

Monday, January 26, 2015

THE Philippine College of Technology-Medvil (PCT) and Sakya-SOS Football Club (FC) ruled their respective divisions at the close of the Philippine Football Federation-Davao Football Association (PFF-DFA) Football Championships held at the Tionko football field over the weekend.

PCT-Medvil clinched the boys Under-15 title by defeating Mintal Interage FC, 3-1, behind the goals of team captain John Mark Diamat, Eric Laurel and Yvan Reyes.

Ateneo de Davao University (AdDU) and Lasang FC finished third and fourth, respectively.


PCT-MEdvil coach Alvic Troyo, in an interview with Sun.Star Davao, said that he's proud of the team's third title win, saying: "Ako gyud silang gi-congratulate dayon after sa game kay gisunod man gud nila tanan akong instructions sa ilaha (I congratulated them for a well played game)."

Troyo added in the vernacular:"I thanked my players because they followed our game plan. We also improved our wing defense. I instructed my players that every time they get past the opponent's defense, they need to pass the ball to the middle to create a goal opportunity.

PCT-Medvil was also bannered by Christopher C. Esguerra, Yvan Karl T. Reyes, Jurgen Anzures, Ronald Penales, Geraldy Sasamu, Charles Edward Ybanes, Anthony Semacio, Dave Hifarva, Erick Loteria, Forhens Pareda, Prince Louie Flores, Joshua Barahama, Jessie Val Ambong, Rafael Escoses, Kevin Malabarbas and Tiffer Valencia.

Troyo also thanked PCT Chief executive officer (CEO) Dr. Gener A. Balili, PCT President Dr. Ma. Rossini L. Balili and faculty and staff for their support to the team.

Diamat was also hailed as the most valuable player (MVP).

Sakya-SOS FC, meanwhile, captured the Girls Under-14 title after nipping Lady Knights FC, 1-0, in their titular showdown.

SouthPoint School (SPS) placed third while AdDU was fourth.

The Keith Shelly "Kitoy" Canton and Merlo Albano-mentored girls squad relied on the services of Marla Ianthina Calizo, Maija Calizo, Julia May Gan, Madelynne Theone Hsu, Yii Chiun Lin, Shanelle Ostan, Eva Sonia Paredes, Julia Mae Premacio, Margarethe Tan, Erikka Yee, Nikkita Yee, Juvielyn Borja, Rea Mae Geolingo, Reylyn Joy Geolingo, Jessa Malate, Attila Kythe Rivero, Lara Joyce Nieto and Diana Cosare.

Newly elected DFA board of director Kagawad Benedict Adan awarded the certificates to the winning teams.

Both tournaments were sponsored by Khanj T-Shirt Maker, GHT Water Refilling Station and Laundry Shop and Hinex Janitorial and Allied Services. (KRP)

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on January 27, 2015.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!