Pinoys rout Indons, enter q'finals

-A A +A

Thursday, July 31, 2014

HIGHLY-touted Team Philippines cruised through the quarter-finals after crushing Indonesia, 4-0, in the Round of 16 of the 2014 World Pool Team Championship at the Tongzhou Luhe High School in Beijing, China Thursday, July 31.

Former World No. 2 Lee Vann Corteza of Davao City proved much too strong for his Indon rival as the 2013 China Open Filipino champion outclassed the latter, 8-4, in men's 9-ball single event. The Dabawenyo, who hails from Mintal, surged to a 5-1 lead but his opponent climbed back to keep the game close, 4-6. Corteza, however, recovered and never looked back to seal the point.

Two-time World 10-ball champion Rubilen Amit also defeated her opponent, 8-4, in women's 9-ball single to secure the fourth point for the Philippines to claim the match, its fourth fourth straight win in the $300,000 cuefest.


Earlier, Dennis Orcollo of Surigao del Sur eked out a 6-0 victory over his rival in men's 8-ball single before his 2013 World Cup of Pool Champion gold medal partner Corteza and Carlo Biado edged an Indon pair, 6-5, in men's 8-ball doubles event of the knockout stage Round of 16.

Indonesia was bannered by Silvana, Bewi Simanjuntak M. Bewi, Rudy Susanto and Muhammad Fadly.

The Philippines demolished Poland (6-0), USA (4-2) and Bulgaria (5-1) in the group stage eliminations.

A looming quarter-finals showdown with formidable Chinese Taipei awaits the Filipinos as the former was leading against Austria, 3-1, as of Thursday.

Chinese Taipei is composed of Chieh-Yu Chou, Jung-Lin Chang, Pin-Yi Ko, Kai-Lun Hsu and Che Wei Fu.

As per World Pool Association (WPA) rules, two teams play each other in a set of six alternate-break matches: men's 8-ball single, men's 8-ball doubles, men's 9-ball single, women's 9-ball single, men's 10-ball single and mixed 10-ball. A win in each event is equivalent to one point while a loss is zero. Whoever scores highest after six events, wins the match.

In the knockout stage, however, the first team to reach four points wins the match.

In other games, China A beat Singapore (4-1), while China B blanked Sweden (4-0) and Great Britain subdued Vietnam (4-1). Poland also advanced by whipping Croatia, 4-1, while Japan downed USA, 4-1.

The champion team will receive $80,000.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on August 01, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!