DCNHS wins historic first game in PSC Pinay

-A A +A

By Romy Sabaldan

Davao Beat

Sunday, July 27, 2014

DAVAO CITY National High School stamped its class against the Holy Cross College of Sasa, two sets to none, in the first ever Philippine Sports Commission Pinay National Volleyball League Sunday at the DCRC Almendras Gym, this city.

HCCS buckled down, 25-10, to a smashing start employed by the DCNHS first six of Lycha Crisanto Ebon, Nicole Sasuman, Khem Consencino, Jessa Monteposo, setter Georgie Loreto and Libero Mika Crisanto. Holy Cross made a more gallant stand in the second set to no avail, 25-17.

PSC Executive Director Jay Alano exhorted all participants to “Give it your best shot” during the opening ceremonies Sunday morning attended by officials of the Philippine Volleyball Federation, coaches, parents, volleyball fans and the Davao City Sports Development Division headed by Butch Ramirez.


The Philippine Sports Commission acknowledges the leadership of Mayor Rodrigo Duterte and the inroads of peace and sports development of the city as the PSC Executive Director institutionalized Davao City as the birthplace of the first PSC Pinay National Volleyball League.

Alano said PSC is expected to introduce the same format of the Davao league to other cities of the country following its 4-day stint in the city. After the Sunday opening, games will resume on Tuesday, July 29 up to the semi-finals and championship on Thursday July 31.

Philippine Volleyball Federation director D’ Artagnan Yambao also thanked the Davao City government for its partnership and for allowing the use of the bigger DCRC Almendras Gym. He said this is also the first time that the facility was used for a volleyball tournament.

Yambao said the PSC Pinay National Volleyball League is an initiative of PSC commissioner Akiko Thomson under her women sports development program.

Pool A of the 11-team competition is composed of DCNHS, University of Immaculate Conception Team A, Maa National High School, Daniel R. Aguinaldo National High School, Saint Peter College of Toril and Holy Cross College of Sasa. Pool B includes Tagum City Visayan Village, University of Immaculate Conception College Team-B, Pablo Lorenzo National High School, Sta. Ana National High School and Assumption College of Davao.

Yambao, who is also Tournament Director, said the complete schedule of the games on Tuesday are the following: starting at 8am UIC-A and DRANHS, 9am SPCT and HCCS, 10am TCNHS and SANHS, 11am UIC-B and ACD. Games in the afternoon starts at 1pm between Davao City National High School and St. Peter College of Toril, 2pm UIC-A and Maa NHS, 3pm DRANHS and HCCS, 4pm TCNHS and UIC-B and 5pm PLNHS and SANHS. Schedule of games on Wednesday and the semi-finals, 3rd and 4th place and the championship on Thursday will be announced later.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on July 28, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!