Bare SKC awardees: DSA, NCCC Mall to be cited

-A A +A

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

THE Davao City Sports Council Inc. (DCSCI) announced on Monday the final list of honorees in the 20th So Kim Cheng Sports Awards Night slated July 22 at the Grand Regal Hotel.

DCSCI president Ben Sur of bodybuilding furnished Sun.Star Davao a copy of this year's awardees led by 2013 World Cup of Pool and 2013 China Open champion Lee Vann Corteza who will be elevated to the Hall of Fame.

Karateka Gabriel T. Quiñones and chesser Ella Grace Moulic will receive their Athlete of the Year awards for the first time in male and female categories, respectively.


Sarangani Representative Manny Pacquiao is Lifetime Achievement awardee, while Davao del Norte Governor Rodolfo del Rosario is Sports Leadership awardee.

The late veteran journalist Ramon Maxey and national chess arbiter Sammy Yu are posthumous awardees.

Special citations will be given to Davao School for the Blind's Araw ng Dabaw gold medalists Edmond Montecillo and Bia Himpit and Team Titans Davao.

The Davao Sportswriters Association (DSA) will also be cited for its "support to DCSCI and So Kim Cheng Foundation for the past 20 years" along with DSA member "Tatay" Rene Lumawag "for his special contribution in different faces of sports, inspiring and challenging the sports community to raise the level of sports development for 20 colorful years."

NCCC Mall Davao, the home of the DSA, leads the cast of companies that will be awarded with plaques of recognition for sponsoring different sports events along with Emcor-Davao, Tokyo Kichijoji Lions Club and Zoofari Kids Adventure.

Klienn Mataverde and Dianalyn Alcain are outstanding athletes in arnis while Sonny Wagdos and Langie Mae Meder are best athletes in athletics.

The rest of the awardees: baseball - Lowie John Chan; boxing - Brix Catipay; basketball - Janrex Tahanlangit, Lyndabler Sangco; chess - Earl Rhay Mantilla, Exiquila Apao; dancesport - Rodel Banal, Myrthle Chloe Ramos; duckpin bowling - Marcelino de Guzman, Mercy del Mar; football - Agot Danton; judo - Wilson Bonhoc, Desiree Inciso; karatedo - Josh Andrew Worsley, Carmela Marie Estarija; tennis - Jenni Celine Dizon; motocross - Jeven Lagarda; sepak takraw - Christian John Altovar; swimming - Ernie Gawilan, Zoe Marie Hilario; taekwondo - Joshua Mangibunong, Fharmaine Peñaneuva; table tennis - Smith Billy Cartera, Lindy Marie Darlo; tenpin bowling - Ian Neil Ancheta, Crystal Christine Chavez; volleyball - Jeff Mark Agang, Nicole Frando; and wushu - Evita Elise Paronda Zamora.

Other awardees include the Daciba-Homer's Team, Davraa Palarong Pambansa girls doubles badminton team (gold medalist), Davraa Palarong Pambansa table tennis boys team (gold medalist) and Davraa Palarong Pambansa tennis girls doubles team (gold medalist).

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on July 16, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam