Team Boko Haram wins AFP-PNP press corps bowling tourney

-A A +A

Sunday, July 13, 2014

TEAM Boko Haram won the 1st AFP–PNP Press Corps Southern Mindanao Bowling Tournament at NCCC Mall Billiard Bowling Bar (B3) Center in Davao City on Saturday afternoon.

The tournament was graced by media practitioners and members of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) and the Davao Light and Power Company (DLPC). Six teams competed during the play-offs.

Boko Haram players Roan Abasolo, Eva Mabborang, Roda Leoncito, Virgo Calida, and Diosdado Gonzales scored 1,340 pinfalls in the final round to be crowned champions and win the P7,500 cash prize.


The second place went to NPA players Eric Ulanday, Arnold Coloma, Richard Reyes, Ben Tesiorna and Captain Mario Tena who tallied a total of 1,158 and was awarded a P5,000 cash prize.

NDF players Peng Aliño, Miguel Gascon, Ayan Mellejor, Susan Paredes, and William Eduagin nabbed third place with 1,129 pinfalls and won P3,500.
The top scorers of the tournament for male and female categories were also awarded with P1,500 in prize money.

The highest scorers were Edith Isidro of the Philippine Information Agency (PIA) 11 with 134 pinfalls and Ben Jason Tesiorna of Solar News with 212 pinfalls.

Consolation prizes of P1,000 worth of gift certificate were handed to the last three teams – Isis, ASG, and CPP.

Tesiorna, who is the president of the AFP-PNP Press Corps, said the name of the teams were selected by the secretariat for fun and had nothing to do with any ideologies.

“It is about building camaraderie and unity as well through sports for the media and the members of the AFP and PNP, including the stakeholders and the society,” Peng Aliño of the DXRD Radyo ng Bayan, said.

The AFP-PNP Press Corps also thanked its sponsors who made the tournament successful. Among of the sponsors were Davao City Vice Mayor Paolo Duterte and North Cotabato Governor Lala Taliño-Mendoza, the White House Fusion Cuisine and Wine Lounge, National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP), and SMART Communications Inc.

The tournament was also supported by Davao City Mayor Rodrigo R. Duterte, the Davao Light and Power Company, Eastern Mindanao Command (Eastmincom), Task Force Davao (TFD), Police Regional Office 11 (PRO11) and Davao Oriental Governor Corazon Malanyaon.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on July 14, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!