Apo Golf annual meeting set July 6

-A A +A

Thursday, July 3, 2014

BEFORE anything else, I would like to remind the members of Apo Golf Club about the annual meeting on Sunday, July 6, 2014, at 10am at the Apo Golf Clubhouse. Registration starts at 8a.m.

Aside from the election of a new set of directors, there is a very important matter to be discussed. Based on the letter about the notice of meeting, they hope to amend the Articles of Incorporation—article 7, and it is about the ‘number of proprietary members for whom the Corporation is authorized to issue Certificates of Membership.’

It is mentioned in the letter that in the records filed with SEC, only 250 certificates are authorized. At present, there are 500 certificates. And, if I am not mistaken, about a year ago, there was a move to make it to 1,000. So, please do attend to ensure that we have a quorum. If you cannot attend, you may appoint a proxy.


Speaking of proxies, for as long as I can remember, proxies were used during the annual meetings. And proxies meant control because most of those proxies were undated, and those proxies were used time and time again. About the directors, they can sit forever if they wanted to.

There was no maximum tenure. They can run every year and win, especially if they had a bunch of proxies always at hand.

I was one of the directors of Apo Golf Club in the past. I was on the board for a few years. I was even elected as corporate secretary and was given the house committee to run. During that time, we tried to ratify the articles. Among the amendments we tried to push for, was to limit the number of years that a director can hold office—to give chance to other members to be part of the board. And, we tried to remove the proxies also. That way, members who are really interested in the corporation are forced to attend the meetings personally.

From what I remember, we had a quorum during that one membership meeting. And we had dignitaries from the Justice community and our legal counsel was present to witness the said meeting. And I remember that we forwarded the amendments to SEC. And then, I stepped down from office due to the limit of the number of years as director. I guess, based on recent events, those amendments were not ratified. Oh well.

To the future set of directors, please keep in mind that members have families. Let the club be not just for the players but let the family members enjoy it too. It would be nice to fix the swimming pool again. Where are the billiard tables that we purchased during my time? Remember, not all members are golfers. And, please improve the ladies locker. Thank you.

Change topic. The 2014 Dynasty Cup which was held at Rancho Palos Verdes concluded last June 28, 2014. Here are the top 3 teams. In first place is Dream Team with 53 points. In second place is DKGA with 49 points. In third place is Pomelo Verde with 43 points.

Congratulations to the members of Dream Team for winning first place. Here they are: Monchit Mackay (team captain), Vince Gumapac, Vince Arcenas, Louie Rabat, Patrick Tan, Toffee Tionko, Joey Mempin, Jigs Calixto, Semion Marfori, and Ludwig Ledesma.

Congratulations to the members of DKGA (Davao Korean Golf Association), for winning second place. Here they are: Kim Gui Nam (team captain), Yoo Jung Ku, Hong Sung Hwa, Kim Il Gyu, Lee Bong Hee, Jung In Kyu, Kim Min Suk, Lee Jae Un, Lee Dong Woon, and Kim Jung Hyun.

Congratulations to the members of Pomelo Verde for winning third place. Here they are: Joe Marfori (team captain), Mayong Pillerin, Louie Brodeth, Manny Nitorreda, Ting Castillo, Hermie Martin, Martin Sara, Nonoy Llamas, Jun Canedo, and Archie Moralizon.

Special prizes were given to the following: for the net aggregate score, lowest net went to Lee Bong Hee and Lee Jae Un with 142 points, while lowest gross went to Roderick Lo and Cris Tan with 153 points. In scramble, lowest net went to PJ San Pedro and Bong Guerzon with 54 points, while lowest gross went to Lee Bong Hee and Lee Jae Un with 65. For the One Ball Twosome, lowest net went to Lando Ching and Joseph Ng with 70 points while Monchit Mackay and Patrick Tan (76) got the lowest gross.

One more special prize – Best in Uniform! And the winning team is—Dipscorr. Yehey! The team members are Paul Garcia (team captain), Ronnie Magsico, Marvin Del Rosario, Addy Briones, Oscar Rebosura, Romy Garcia, Jerico Bajo, Wendell Adlao, Vince Batucan, and Bob Lacaya. Na-curious tuloy ako sa itsura ng uniform nila. I have always known Paul to dress up well every time he plays golf.

Which reminds me…Attention Toffee Tionko, I saw you dance Zumba wearing a barong during the Hijos de Davao celebration. Hahaha!

By the way, this is the 6th Dynasty Cup. So, for those who didn’t make it, better luck next year, on the 7th Dynasty Cup!
See you this Sunday at Apo Golf Club!

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on July 04, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!