Golf: The 9th Pomelo Tee

-A A +A

Friday, May 2, 2014

THE 9th Pomelo Tee of Rancho Palos Verdes is on its second day. It is a 4-day tournament and it will end on Sunday, May 4, 2014. As you know, it is a 36-hole team and individual competition. They are expecting 400 golfers to participate in this event.

I can just imagine how excited the players will be when they play the four par 3’s for two days. They have 8 chances to win the hole in one prizes which include—a brand new car from KarAsia, a Class A golf share from Rancho Palos Verdes, P750,000 cash prize, a brand new motorcycle from Emcor, and a vacation package from the Royal Caribbean Cruise Ship.

Change topic. Last April 28, 2014, the Junior Golf League of Davao had its Summer Golf Tournament at Apo Golf & Country Club. The winners will represent the league in the Jungolf Masters (Mindanao leg) at the Del Monte Golf Club this coming May 1-2, 2014.


Here are the winners in the girls division: class A champion (15-17 yrs old) – Samantha Beltran, class B champion (13-14 yrs old) – Verlalaine Rosal, class C champion (11-12 yrs old) – Florence Yvon Bisera, class D champion (9-10 yrs old) – Ella Nagayo.

Here are the winners in the boys division: class A champion (15-17 yrs old) – Billy Tapucar, 1st Runner-up (15-17 yrd old) – Ronnel Taga-an; class B champion (13-14 yrs old) – Edmar Salvador Jr., 1st runner-up (13-14 yrs old) – Raffy Torrobo; class C champion (11-12 yrs old) – Alexander Flores, 1st runner-up (11-12 yrs old) – John Christopher Labrador; class D champion (8-10 yrs old) – Zeus Sara, 1st runner-up (8-10 yrs old) – Ken Ruel Zono; class E champion (8 & below) – Edison Tabalin, class E 1st runner-up (8 & below) – James Francis Depilo.

Philippine Golf Tour Update. The ICTSI Sherwood Hills Classic concluded last April 26, 2014. Charles Hong finished in 1st place. Surprising outcome—Micah Shin, a Korean national who is based in Davao and is a regular player of Apo Golf, finished in 2nd place. FYI, he is a rookie in the Philippine Golf Tour and he is only 17 years old. Congratulations to Micah Shin for finishing in 2nd place!

In third place is Randy Garalde. In fourth place is ZanieBoy Gialon. In fifth place is Jay Bayron. In sixth place is Mars Pucay. In seventh place is Elmer Salvador. Tied for 8th place are Frankie Minoza, Rick Gibson and Jessie Balasabas.
Some of the pros were not present at Sherwood Hills because they competed in the Indonesian Masters. Anirban Lahiri of India won 1st place. Tony Lascuna finished tied for 22nd place. Miguel Tabuena finished tied for 29th place.

In the Ladies PGT, finally, they have their first tournament which is the ICTSI Orchard Golf Ladies Classic scheduled on April 27-30. 2014. Quick recap of the top 10. In 1st place is Cyna Rodriguez. In 2nd place is Jayvie Agojo. In 3rd place is Chihiro Ikeda. In 4th place is Lou Daniella Uy (amateur). In 5th place is Anya Tanpinco. In 6th place is Lovelyn Guioguio. In 7th place is Sarah Ababa. In 8th place is LK Go (amateur). Tied for 9th place are Apple Fudolin and Samantha Bruce (amateur).

One last thing. About the 1st Chikaan Cup, the duel between Rancho Palos Verdes and Apo Golf Club—the winning team is—Apo Golf Club.

Congratulations! Will talk about it in detail on my next article. I heard it was a very exciting competition.

Congratulations to the winners of the 1st Womb Open Golf Tournament held last April 26-27, 2014. Here they are: class A gross champion – DenDen de Castro, runner-up – Roderick Lo; class A net champion – Andrew Bautista, runner-up – Apo Luna; class B gross champion – Boy Pude, runner-up – Jose Daigdigan, class B net champion – Ace Rizon, runner-up – Jerry Leonor; class C gross champion – Hartono Eko, runner-up – Abdullah Dumama; class C net champion – Ian Dagatan, runner-up – Junie Gatemala; class D gross champion – Yoshiro Terada, runner-up – Eugene Sabio; class D net champion – Jong Agton, runner-up – Joel Jesura; seniors gross champion – Nick Olarte, runner-up – Chito Morada; seniors net champion – Romeo Du, runner-up – Manuel Albaracin; ladies gross champion – JM Balbuena, net champion – Faye Jayno.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on May 02, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!