Tawantawan ES routs Talomo, 9th Davao Baseball Cup opens

-A A +A

Thursday, March 27, 2014

UNHERALDED Tawantawan Elementary School batters of Baguio District marked their debut by routing Talomo Elementary School, 12-1, in a pre-opening game of the 9th Davao Baseball Cup that formally kicks off at 8 a.m. Friday, March 28, at the University of Mindanao (UM) baseball diamonds.

The Luisa Ligue-coached Tawantawan, which is seeing action in the annual tournament for the first time, relied on Jayson Marl Abang, John Polangos, Rev Laurden, Faidal Maputol, Mark Francis Aprong, Ian James Besbanes, Reynald Jay Enoch, Ivan Siton, Jhon Lloyd Manuta, Christian Andoy and Cupid Jay Reginio in their advance game Thursday.

Tawantawan, thus, advanced to the next round in the eliminations of the two-day event jointly presented by the Datu Uchida Development Foundation Inc. (DUDFI), Davao City Baseball Association (DCBA) and Tokyo Kichijoji Lions Club (TKLC).


TKLC president Yoshinao Maruyama is guest speaker along with Davao City's Sports Development Division of the City Mayor's Office (SDD-CMO) officer-in-charge William "Butch" Ramirez in a simple opening rites.

DCBA president and UM sports director Joaquin "Boy" Sarabia will welcome participants, guests and spectators while Japan-based DUDFI sports director Yusuke Uchida will give the closing remarks.

A total of 19 teams are competing in this year's edition, 12 in the elementary division and seven in the High School category including two teams from Davao del Sur and one team from Davao del Norte.

The Baguio Central Elementary School is expected to defend its elementary title but Tawantawan, Philippine Nikkei Jin Kai International School (PNJKIS), Antonio Pichon Jr. Elementary School of Tibungco, Asbang Alok Elementary School of Davao del Sur, Bayabas Elementary School of Toril, F. Bustamante Centeral Elementary School of Tibungco, Mulig Elementary School of Toril, Ramon F. Magsaysay Elementary School, San Roque Central Elementary School and SIR Elementary School teams may pull off surprises.

Crossing Bayabas National High School, meanwhile, will try to keep the crown against Baguio National High School, Calinan National High School, Holy Cross College of Sasa, Magsaysay Academy Inc., Maryknoll High School of New Corella in Davao del Norte and PNJKIS.

The City Government of Davao, through the SDD-CMO, is sponsoring the cash prizes at stake for the winners of the meet organized as part of the 77th Araw ng Dabaw Sports Festival.

Yakult Philippines, Probiotics Inc., Shogakuji Temple in Fuchu City, Tokyo, Katsuhiko Umeki, Katsuhiko Tamura, Kazuma Sports, Funasho Shoji Company, Del Monte Company and PNJKI are backing up the tournament as minor sponsors, along with supporters Coach Hidetoshi Suzuki, Tomoya Katayama, Nitten Company, Consul Koichi Ibara, Mindanao Kokusai Daigaku, UM and Department of Education.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on March 28, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Sinulog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Technology
  • Festivals
  • goodearth
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper
  • Habemus Papam
  • Obituary