UM, Crossing Bayabas govern `Araw' athletics

-A A +A

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

DEFENDING champion University of Mindanao (UM) Panthers and Crossing Bayabas National High School (CBNHS) stamped their rivals to emerge over-all champion in the Mayor Rody and Vice Mayor Pulong Duterte 77th Araw ng Dabaw Athletics Competition at the Davao City National High School oval.

UM amassed a total of 132 points in the 16 years old above division, besting Vantage Sports with 94 points that grabbed the second spot.

Barangay 21 came in close third with 92 points while Emar Environmental College was fourth with 30 points.
UM’s Gerald Lamatan clinched the men's 100 meter and 200m dash golds while Sonny Wagdos topped the men's 1,500m and anchored the 4x100m relay team's golden finish. Mark Anthony Taya added a gold in men's 10,000m walk.


Vantage Sports, for its part, hauled golds courtesy of Michael Constantino (800m) and Niño Refamonte (triple jump) while Adrian Linao of Barangay 21 captured the mens' shot put and discus throw golds.

The UM women athletics team, meanwhile, swept six golds at stake with Langie May Meder (100m, 200m and 4x100m relay), Daisy Jean Canencia (800m), April Rose Guiang (discus throw) and Meezel Cabriros (5,000m walk).

Vantage Sports' Nova Belle Tega bagged the women's shot put gold as teammate Michelle Pandian copped the men's triple jump.

Ruffa Sorongon (1,500m) was Emar's lone gold medalist.

In 15 years old below category, CBNHS garnered 136 points over Teams Piedad (66) and Team Davraa (64) that ended up second and third, respectively. The last two spots were occupied by Barangay 38-D (49) and Barangay 40 (25).

Edrian Bentulan of CBNHS swept the boys 800m and 1,600m walk golds while Neil Patrick Lacierda (long jump) and Dave Calinga (4x100m relay) also shared the limelight.

Crisller Taganas of Barangay 38 annexed the 100m and 200m golds while Derick De Gracia of Piedad won in 400m and shot put.

In the girls’ side, Frences Mae Dayon (100m, 200m) and Rosenelyn Depilio (400m, 800m) led the gold medal tally of CBNHS. Davraa's Christine Lariba (long jump), Grace Tomvin Conejar (4x100m relay) and Dymie Rose Jaro (1,600m walk) outclassed their opponents while Piedad snatched a lone gold through Kimbie Jane Notad.

All winners received cash prizes and medals from the City Government of Davao in the event organized by the Philippine Amateur Track and Field Association (Patafa) with regional director Belen Kempis Taala as tournament manager.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on March 18, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam