Cebu bowler wins ‘Araw' tenpin open

-A A +A

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

VISITING Xyrra Cabusas of Bowlingplex-Tenpin Association (BTA)-Prima Cebu emerged champion to pocket a whopping P50,000 cash prize at the close of the 9th Davao Tenpin Bowlers Association (Datba) Araw ng Dabaw Classic Tenpin Open Tournament held at NCCC Mall Davao B3 Lanes over the weekend.

Florante Calipay of BTA placed second to pocket P 20,000.

Datba pintopplers Crystal Chavez and Rene Dalayon grabbed the next two spots to claim P 10,000 and P 5,000, respectively. Sam Alex of Cebu Tenpin Bowling Association (Cetba)-Prima got P3,000 for finishing fifth.


Rounding up the top 10 were Benshir Layoso of Manila Tenpin Bowlers Association (MTBA), Louie Bianzon of Imus Tenpin Bowlers Association (Itba) and Datba’s Sonny Dimaano who each got P2,000.

Datba president Ian Neil Ancheta awarded the prizes to the winners.

Other Cebu bowlers, meanwhile, also romped away with prizes. Wilbert Yu of BTA was top qualifier to claim P 3,000 while the next two placers Alex (Cetba) and Cabusas (BTA) went home with P2,000 and P1,000, respectively.

The 9th Datba Araw ng Dabaw Classic Tenpin Open Tournament was backed up by Fundador Light, Gloria Fernandez, Nitoy Tamayo, UPHS, Jaime Dychauco, NCCC Supermarket, Mr. Javey Lim, Mark Li of Bearing Center and Machinery Inc, Mayor July Langkuno Family, Bernas Family, Seastar Cargo Logistics Inc, Joselito Balunan, Pacific Heights Residential Resort, Metrosound Car Accessories, Joshua Disuacido, Yan, Razons Gmall, Federation of Cooperatives in Mindanao, Nierra Family, Dalayon family, Joe Daigdigan, Luciano's Catering Services, E.Yap Jr. Family, Paul Rabe and Danny Usman.

Datba, meanwhile, hosted the 2013 National Bowling Tour Grand Finals last March 8 together with Chairman Nitoy Tamayo and co-chair Jaime Dychauco.

Emma Banez of ITBA bagged P100,000 for topping the tournament while Alex Lagcao (Cetba) settled for the P30,000 runner-up prize and Benshir Layoso (MTBA) received P10,000 for placing third.

Both events were sanctioned by the Philippine Bowling Congress (PBC).

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on March 12, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Sinulog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Technology
  • Festivals
  • goodearth
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper
  • Habemus Papam
  • Obituary