Diolola, Yngayo cop Felis junior chess titles

-A A +A

Monday, March 10, 2014

GENERAL Santos City's Albert Diolola Jr. and University of Mindanao's Dhona Yngayo captured the junior titles of the 2nd Felis Resort Complex Youth Active Chess Championship held at the Felis Beach Resort over the weekend.

Diolola edged fellow five-pointer Jimzon Trangia of the Holy Cross of Davao College (HCDC) via superior tiebreaks, 16.0-13.0, to rule the junior boys event that attracted a total of 20 chessers. He pocketed the top cash prize of P1,500. Trangia settled for P500 while John Gerard Acedo of Bukidnon State University of Mindanao, who led four other four-pointers with better tiebreaks, placed third to receive P300.

The second-seeded Diolola outclassed rivals Dexter Echalico, Trangia, Manuelito Belarma , Alvin Acas and Raymondwill Mirantes but lost to top-seeded Acedo in their fifth round match of the six-round Swiss System format category.


Top-seeded Yngayo, for her part, earned six points to emerge champion in junior girls. She bested teammates Exiquila Apao (5.0) and Cyrille Gwynn Vidad (4.0) who placed second and third, respectively, in the 17-player field.

Yngayo scored perfect six points, defeating Vidad, Janes Hitfield Caingles, Apao, Erna Liwanan and Nadyn Victoria Cruz.

In kiddies division, Kurt John Placencia of Magallanes Elementary School topped the boys side having nipped another 5.0 scorer Earl Rhey Mantilla of Davao Wisdom Academy with higher tiebreaks. Placencia received P1,000 while Mantilla claimed P500.

DWA player Allen Daven de Asis, who tallied four points, placed third to take home P300 in the tournament sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP).

The fifth-seeded Placencia succumbed to second-seeded de Asis in the second round then prevailed over Norman James Varquez, Mantilla, Juan Gabriel Ramos, Alwin Jericho Uy and Brendon Rylle Macariola.

Top-ranked Irish Yngayo of Davao Central College, meanwhile, seized the kiddies girls title at the expense of No. 3 Jessa Marie Bautista and No. 2 Lorraine Yngayo. Yngayo axed wins over Gene Claire Bulicatin, Queen Peralta, Florence Faith Guevarra, Bautista, and Lorraine.

FNA Ronnie Tabudlong was tournament director while FNA/national master (NM) Prospero "Bebot" Cruz served as chief arbiter of the one-day competition sponsored by Felis Beach Resort Complex CEO Severino "Bong" Domingo.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on March 11, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam