UM jins rule City Prisaa Meet 2014

-A A +A

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

POWERHOUSE University of Mindanao (UM) struck for a total of six gold medals and three silvers to rule the just-concluded Davao City Private Schools Athletic Association (Prisaa) taekwondo competition held at the University of the Immaculate Conception (UIC) Gym.

The UM men's team clinched four golds and two silvers to emerge champion over runner-up DMAA College of Southern Philippines (DMMACSP) that took one gold, three silvers and two bronzes, and third-placer Davao Doctors College (DDC) that copped one gold, one silver and one bronze.

In the distaff side, UM annexed two golds and one silver, while UIC pocketed one gold, and DMMACSP and Mats College of Technology salvaged one silver each.


Joshua Mangibunog of UM bested Jon Carlo Ong of DMMACSP in men's finweight finals. The latter snatched the silver instead, while Reggie Magan of UIC ended up with the bronze.

Mark June Lauron of UM bagged the men's featherweight gold over DMMACSP's John Paul Pandoro, even as Mark Jose Lansang captured the men's lightweight gold over DMMACSP jin Jerald Edson Amarillo.

Lauron's teammate Bienfrancis Osmeña annexed the men's heavyweight gold at the expense of DDC's John Mark Rodriguez. Another UM bet Don Richard Digamon was unopposed in men's middleweight class.

DDC player Geno Alexis Borneo topped the men's welterweight event over UM's Jose Marie Malubay who got the silver instead. Kenneth Gemina of DMMACSP had the bronze in the one-day event managed by tournament chair Edgardo "Bing" Grandeza.

DMMACSP's Wencilito Estrera and Mats College of Technology's Eugene Rey Trajera also shared the limelight by dominating their respective categories. Estrera subdued UM's Manuel Gaviola in men's flyweight, while Trajera defeated UIC's Ryan Von Uriarte in men's bantamweight titular showdown. DDC's Ian Paradero and DMMACSP's Leonardo Avenido III went home with a bantamweight bronze each.

Christine Love Rabor and Laarni Cortes gave UM the womens' golds in finweight and flyweight divisions, respectively. Rabor outclassed Gerly Orquillano of DMMACSP, while Cortes overcame Aljean Flores of Mats.

UIC bet Sarahlyn Villanueva put up a golden finish for UIC in women's bantamweight after trouncing Portia Joy Pasana of UM.

Meanwhile, Mats emerged champion in mens' badminton while UM placed second and UIC was third. The UM shuttlers also governed the women's event against UIC.

In chess, UM men's team seized three golds and two silvers while Jose Maria College (JMC) accounted for two golds and two silvers. The UM women's woodpushers swept four golds and one silver while JMC pocketed a gold and four silvers.

The table tennis men's team title went to UM while UIC and DDC wounded up in the next two spost while UM women's table paddlers grabbed the crown over UIC.

Champions will advance to the Southern Mindanao Prisaa Meet slated February 21 to 23 at the Davao del Norte Sports and Tourism Complex in Tagum City.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on January 22, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam