Delay in proclamation irks councilor-elect

-A A +A

Friday, May 17, 2013

A WINNING candidate for city councilor on Wednesday questioned the Board of Canvassers (BOC) for delaying the proclamation of leading candidates of Davao City's second district.

"It cannot affect anymore the slots of one to seven. In the interest of justice and equity, the candidates in the 1st to 7th positions must be proclaimed," comebacking councilor Diosdado Mahipus said.

He issued the statement minutes after BOC chair Lawyer Aimee Ampoloquio announced that the leading candidates of second district will be proclaimed only either today or tomorrow.


All winning candidates of Davao City were proclaimed on Wednesday night, except for the councilors of the second district.

Ampoloquio said there are still three clustered precincts in the second district whose results are yet to be transmitted.

She said clustered precincts number 777 and 753 have defective PCOS machines, while clustered precinct number 808 has a defective compact flash (CF) cards.

This did not sit well with Mahipus, who arrived at the session hall of the City Council on Wednesday night supposedly for the proclamation of winners.

As of Wednesday evening, based on the partial unofficial results, Mahipus placed sixth among the candidates for councilors in the second district with 91,471 votes.

The other leading candidates are Louie John Bonguyan (106, 791 votes); Al Ryan Alejandre (with 104, 534 votes); Danny Dayanghirang (100, 206 votes); April Marie Dayap (97, 556 votes); Tomasing Monteverde (88, 694 votes); and Jimmy Dureza (83, 761 votes).

Arnolfo Apostol placed ninth with 82,190 votes.

Ampoloquio said they have to postpone the proclamation of the winning candidates since “the last slot might be affected” with the votes to be transmitted from the three clustered polling precincts.

She said they have already requested the central office to replace the PCOS machines but it failed to include the CF cards.

However, the CF cards are expected to arrive today or tomorrow.

"We patiently waited for this. We followed all rules as far as the election is concerned. We are just a little bit worried," Mahipus said.

He said the three CF cards has less than 2,000 votes only, thus the board should have proclaimed at least the first seven candidates.

But, Ampoloquio said it is not written in any provision that the board is allowed to proclaim the first seven candidates.

Meanwhile, other poll winners were already proclaimed on Wednesday night.

First district representative Karlo Nograles got 132,275 votes; second district representative Mylene Garcia had 99, 869 votes; and third district representative Isidro Ungab got 114,657 votes.

The elected first district councilors are Mable Acosta (142 440 votes); Edgar Ibuyan (124,855 votes); Leo Avila (124, 045 votes); Leah Librado (123,294 votes); Melcjor Quitain (114,500 votes); Nilo Abellera Jr. (106,263 votes); Joanne Bonguyan (104,875 votes); and Bonifacio Militar (100, 514 votes).

The elected third district councilors are Karlo Bello (95,894 votes); Bernard Al-ag (92,992 votes); Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz (86,255 votes); Rachel Zozbrado (74,525 votes); Joselle Villafuerte (72,340 votes); Petite Principe (70,296 votes); Victorio Advincula Jr. (68,217 votes); and Rene Elias Lopez (60, 182 votes).

Incoming Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte and Vice Mayor Paolo Duterte were "not yet officially proclaimed" as they were not around on Wednesday night.

Ampoloquio said they did not print the certificate of canvass for the city's top local positions.

Other elected officials who were not at the session hall were Acosta, Bonguyan and MIlitar. (ANC)

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on May 17, 2013.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper