DOE: 16 power projects to generate 1,900MW

-A A +A

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

THE Department of Energy (DOE) Mindanao Field Office reported that as of May 2014, there are a total of 16 committed power projects for the Mindanao grid with an aggregated capacity of 1,891.70 megawatts (MW).

Based on the data released to Sun.Star Davao by Nilo J. Geroche, energy industry management division chief of DOE Mindanao, there are five power projects each for biomass and coal and three each for hydroelectric and oil.

The committed biomass power projects are: Kalilangan Bio-Energy Corporation's 10 MW Multi Feedstock Power Generating Facility in Bukidnon; Don Carlos Bio-Energy Corporation's 10 MW Multi Feedstock Power Generating Facility in Bukdinon; Malaybalay Bioenergy Corporation's 10 MW Multi Feedstock Power Generating Facility in Bukdinon; Lamsan Power Corporation's 15 MW LPC Biomass Power Plant Project in Maguindanao; and Philippine Trade Center, Inc.'s 1.6 MW Biomass Cogeneration Facility in Maguindanao.


Coal fired power plants include: Therma South Inc.'s 300 MW Coal-fired Therma South Energy Project in Barangay Binugao, Toril, Davao City and Barangay Inawayan, Sta. Cruz, Davao Del Sur; Sarangani Energy Corporation's 200 MW Southern Mindanao Coal Fired Power Station in Maasim, Sarangani; San Miguel Consolidated Power Corporation's 300 MW SMC Davao Power Plant Project Phase 1 in Malita, Davao del Sur; FDC Utilities, Inc.'s 405 MW Misamis Circulating Fluidized Bed Coal-fired power plant project in Misamis Oriental; and GN Power Kauswagan's 540 MW PsagCorp. Coal Fired Power Project in Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte.

The three committed hydroelectric power projects are First Gen Mindanao Hydropower Corp.'s 30 MW Puyo Hydroelectric Power Project in Jabonga, Agusan del Norte; Agusan Power Corporation's 25 MW Lake Mainit facility in Jabonga, Agusan del Sur; and Turbines Resource & Development Corp.'s 9 MW Limbatangon Hydroelectric Power Project in Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental.

Diesel power or bunker-fired power plants are: Mapalad Energy Generating Corporation (MEGC)'s 15 MW Diesel Power Plant in Iligan City; Peak Power Soccskargen, Inc. 20.9 MW Bunker Fired Power Plant in General Santos City; and the Peak Power San Francisco's 5.2 MW Bunker Fired Power Plant in San Francisco, Agusan del Sur.

Target commercial operations of the diesel power or bunker-fired power plants are within this year. As for the rest of the projects, commercial operations are targeted between the first quarter of 2015 to the first quarter of 2017.

Aside from the committed projects, DOE-Mindanao also recorded 17 indicative projects for the Mindanao grid with a total capacity of 1,726.6 MW. Most of these indicative projects are coal fired power plants with a combined capacity of 1,530 MW. Other indicative projects include hydroelectric power plants (90.8 MW), geothermal power plant (50 MW), solar power plants (45 MW), and a biomass power plant (10.8 MW).

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on July 30, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!