Rody signs EO forming members of the PPP board, committee

-A A +A

Thursday, January 16, 2014

DAVAO City mayor Rodrigo Duterte signed last week the Executive Order (EO) No. 3, forming the members of the city's Public-Private Partnership Board and the PPP Pre-qualification, Bids, and Awards Committee (PBAC).

According to the EO No. 3, "it is the policy of the City Government of Davao to promote the participation of the private-sector as an active partner in the pursuit of economic development and self-reliance through public-private partnerships", and thus the creation of the PPP Board and PBAC.

The EO 3 was enacted based on Section 302 of Republic Act (RA) no. 1760, also known as Local Government Code of 1991, Section 3 of RA 7718, or the Revised Philippine Build-Operate-and Transfer (BOT) Law, and Rule XIII Article 66 of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of the RA 1760.


Sec. 302 of RA 1760 and Sec. 3 of RA 7718 authorize LGUs to enter into contract with any of the contractual arrangements in the BOT Law while Rule XIII, Article 66 of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of the RA 1760 states that LGUs are "permitted to enter into joint ventures and such other cooperative arrangements with the private sector to enhance economic and social well-being of the people."

The executive order was also enacted in order to commence the implementation of the provisions of Ordinance No. 0353-12, "an Ordinance Promoting Public-Private Partnerships in the Financing, Construction, Operation, and Maintenance of Local Government Infrastructure or Development Projects," which was implemented on November 28, 2012.

The board is chaired by the Mayor Duterte and co-chaired by Vice Mayor Paolo Z. Duterte. Its members from the public sector are City Councilors Danilo C. Dayanghirang, Leonardo R. Avila III, Nilo M. Abellera, Jr., National Economic Development Authority (Neda) 11 regional director Maria Lourdes D. Lim, Davao City Investment and Promotion Center (DCIPC) officer-in-charge Ivan C. Cortez, City Tourism Operations Office (CTOO) head Ma. Felisa C. Marques, and City Engineer Office (CEO) head Engr. Roland C. Reyes.

From the private sector, the members are Davao City Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (DCCCII) members and past presidents Arch. Daniel T. Lim and Dr. Maria Lourdes G. Monteverde, Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers-Davao City president Engr. Reynaldo O. Aquitania, member of the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP)-Davao City lawyer Santos E. Torre¤a, Jr., and member of the local media Jaime R. Torres.

City administrator Melchor V. Quitain is also designated as the permanent representative of the Mayor to the board.

The PBAC is chaired by Mario Luis J. Jacinto while Atty. Osmundo P. Villanueva Jr. is the secretary. Members are: Engr. Roland C. Reyes, Rizalina N. Justol, CPA, and Atty. Johpee S. Avance¤a-Agustin.
Marques and Department of Tourism (DOT) assistant secretary Arturo P. Boncato, Jr. were named as voting member and non-voting member, respectively, as provisional members of the PBAC specific to the project proposal received by the city government on the development of Magsaysay Park.
Also named as voting members were City Environment and Natural Resources Office (Cenro) head Engr. Elisa P. Madrazo and non-voting member Department Environment of Natural Resources (DENR) 11 executive director Joselin Marcus E. Fragada for project proposals on waste-to-energy projects.

Davao Contractor's Association Center, Inc. president Dino Mae D. Suelto, Atty. Rolando Pondoc, CPA, Bienvenido P. Presilda of the Commission on Audit (COA), and Department of Interior Local Government (DILG)-Davao City director Merilo Q. Limbaro were named as non-voting observers.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on January 16, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!