Cebu to host PCCL matches in November

-A A +A

Sunday, August 17, 2014

THE battle for national supremacy got more exciting with the adoption of this year’s new format of the Philippine Collegiate Champions League (PCCL).

This year, the PCCL will put the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. (Cesafi) champions and runner-up on equal footing with their Universities Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) and National Amateur Athletic Association (NCAA) counterparts.

In what the organizers called the PCCL Elite 8 Series, the Cebuano fans will also get the chance to watch the Manila teams play the Cebu squads as PCCL brings a five days worth of games, from Nov. 13 to 18 at the Cebu Coliseum.


And in the new scheme, not just one but three Cesafi teams will have the chance to gun for the national title.

“We will witness the best teams in the country not just on TV but live here in Cebu. And our Top 4 teams will have the chance to advance to the Premier 4 Series, which will be held in Manila,” Cesafi commissioner Felix Tiukinhoy said during the organizational meeting.

Tiukinhoy, was joined by University of Cebu’s Baldomero Estenzo, sports patron Lorenzo “Chao” Sy and a couple of staff from the Cebu City Sports Commission, yesterday.

In the course of the meeting, they also had a tele-conference with PCCL executive director Joe Lipa and chairman Rey Gamboa to clarify the scheduling of the games.

According to Sy, who will take the lead in organizing the event, in cooperation with Cesafi, the games will be held as an event for a cause to help raise funds for the construction of the new Cebu City Medical Center.

The top two finishers of Cesafi will automatically make the Elite 8, while the third and fourth placers will go through the Visayas-Mindanao qualifiers, which is the Southern Island championships.

It will be held at the Cebu Coliseum, which will serve as curtain raiser in the Cesafi collegiate men’s championship.
“We will have separate schedules for the third place series, which will be held 10 days before the collegiate finals. So there is a good chance that we will have three teams in the Elite 8 Series and also a chance to have more than one team in the Premier 4 Series,” Tiukinhoy added.

The UAAP champions, Cesafi runner-up, NCAA runner-up and the Luzon-Metro Manila qualifier is bracketed in Group A, while the NCAA champion, UAAP runner-up, Cesafi champions and the Vis-Min qualifier will be in Group B.

Teams in the same group will play each team in the other group in order to determine the Premier 4 teams.

The No. 1 and No. 2 teams after the Elite 8 will play in a best-of-three championship series, while the 3rd and 4th teams will clash in the knockout game for third place finish. (RCM)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on August 17, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper