Cesafi 14th season opens today

-A A +A

Friday, August 1, 2014

THE long wait is over as the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. (Cesafi) unfolds its 14th season today at the Cebu Coliseum.

The opening rites will officially start at 1 p.m. right after the parade of players.

It will be highlighted by the Palabas of the member-schools with the selection of muses for the high school and college divisions.


The short program will start with the invocation of University of San Carlos athletic director Rev. Fr. Adriano Ocariza,SVD.

Cesafi President Fr. Manuel Uy, SJ will deliver the opening remarks and will declare the Cesafi 14th Season open after the ceremonial handshake of the athletes and officials.

The managers of the different sporting events will be introduced, followed by the oath of sportsmanship to be led by the University of the Visayas (UV) Green Lancers team captain Chris Yonnel Perolino.

Eleven of the 12 member-schools will participate in the “Grand Palabas” that will feature dance performances that will include a contemporary/folk, contemporary/jazz, contempo, neo-ethnic, pop jazz to hip-hop.

Competing for the Miss Cesafi 2014 High School title are Hasmin Mamao of Cebu Eastern College (CEC); Gabriela Nicole Gagarin of Cebu Institute of Technology-University (CIT-U); Sharmaine Gayle Lampago of the University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R); Amada Basnillo of the University of Southern Philippines Foundation (USPF); Kathryn Alexis Mier of the University of San Carlos (USC); Alyssa Yosores of UV, Sophia Ynez Gandionco of Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu (SHS-AdC); and Dyamyka Lyra Piencenaves of the University of Cebu (UC).

While vying for the College title are Keisha Kapasila of CIT-U; Maica Alexis Cortes of USPF; Nicole Louisa Ring of USC; Janical Burasca of USJ-R; Shaila Mae Rebortera of UV; Annieme Dalla Lee of CEC; Cynthia Thomalla of UC; Maria Kristina Lim of SWU; and Joanne Bonnely of Velez College.

The judges tasked to select this year’s winners are Allan Suarez, the president of A. Suarez Sterling Corp., Veneracion “Tata” Cinco-Sy, the Visayas Cluster head of ABS-CBN and Crystalle Ozamis, the Sales Director of 32 Sanson Rockwell Land.

This tournament managers of the other sports event includes Victor Yntig for athletics, Ryan Aznar (volleyball), Francis Ramirez (football), Catherine Vestil (swimming), Fritz Tabura (lawn tennis), Lerma Binaoro (badminton), Gerard Caballes (table tennis), Marvin Ruelan (chess), Vic Luna (karatedo), Eng’r Ted Martus (scrabble), deputy directors Danny Duran and Atty. Marvin Pañares for basketball and Dr. Danilo Villadolid is the deputy director for the other events.

The basketball hostilities follow the opening with the USJ-R and UC teams battling it out in the secondary and college divisions.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on August 02, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Sinulog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Technology
  • Festivals
  • goodearth
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper
  • Habemus Papam
  • Obituary