Surban bags 2nd

-A A +A

Sunday, June 15, 2014

DANAO City— After trailing in the first four laps, Indonesia’s national team rider Bandi Sugito brok away in the fifth to snatch the cross-country men’s elite title in the UCI sanctioned Asean MTB Cup in Barangay Manlayag-Patag.

Sugito, the silver medalist of 2013 Southeast Asean Games (Seag) in Myanmar, powered his way over local and other foreign riders to finish the 25.2-kilometer race in 1 hour 34 minutes and 6 seconds.

“In the fifth lap, I broke away from the pack. My teammate was leading in the first lap and I was fourth in the other laps. It was very hot though but I manage to cope with that. The route was very nice it can be compared to International tracks. I also appreciate the competitive riders,” said Sugito.


Cebu’s pride Niño Surban finished second in 1:36:00, while Leopoldo Japetana Jr. got third place.

“With local and foreign riders in the Asean MTB Cup. He was (Surban) one of the very good riders I’ve met in this region,” Sugito said of Surban.

Surban uplifted the home crowd when he finally joined the top three coming in to the fifth lap before Sobito took the lead for good.

With the recent result, Surban will have his hands full in their next encounter in the second leg of the Asean MTB Cup on Aug. 15 to 17 in Malaysia. Surban will try to bolster his chance for the series overall men’s elite championship.

“Dili ko moingon nga mobalos ko niya sa Malaysia pero paningkamotan gyud nato na maayo ang ako performance didto. Sauna mapildi man nako siya sa Asean MTB Championships pero karon nga year layo nako niya. Maayo iyang training man gud,” said Surban.

The rest of the top five bikers were Butuan Cycle Line Extreme’s Cesar Lapaza Jr (1:36:35) and Edwin Nacario Jr. (1:37:58).

In the men’s Master A, Team Ariana Specialized grabbed another medal with Oliver Portillano taking the win in 54:34, just 13 seconds ahead of John Paul Laspinas of Groundzero Iloilo.

Multisports Adventure’s Jhomllodin Lucman finished in 56:03 for third place, while Reynante Gabor came in at 57:55 for fourth place. Philippine Air Force bet Nilo Estaya clocked 59:16 to snatch fifth place.

Indonesia’s head coach Oki Raspati dominated the men’s Master B in 56:47. He beat Team Sea Rider Dive Center’s bet Mark Narcavan (58:20) and Cannasia Cannodale’s Fraser Morrison (1:00:39). Great Britain’s Kenneth Pownall (1:01:05) and Singaporean Kim Kwee Ng (1:03:40)
got the fourth and fifth spots, respectively.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on June 16, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam