Montoya shocks IM Yap, takes lead

-A A +A

Saturday, May 31, 2014

EIGHTH-SEED Edsel Montoya and third seed Eden Diano took over the leadership after Round 7 following their respective big victories in the 9-Round Swiss System Mayor Michael Rama Chess Cup 2014 held at the SM City-Cebu Event Center yesterday.

With still two rounds to go, Montoya and Diano were the top contenders to winning the top prize P15,000 of the P75,800 total prize at stake in this tournament organized by the Cebu Executives and Professionals Chess Association (Cepca) and the Cebu City Sports Commission and the Cebu City Government.

The two players had 6.5 points before their head-to-head collision in Round 8 as of press time last night.


Montoya enjoyed a psychological edge in their match as he was riding on the crest of his victory over top seed International Master Kim Steven Yap in Round 6.

Yap had the upperhand, when the tide turned around giving Montoya the momentum and eventually the match. Montoya then drew with NM Merben Roque on the seventh round, while Yap continued to slip when he lost his seventh match to NM Arnold Cadiz, pushing him to 15th place.

It was not only Yap who suffered momentary lapses as second seed IM Barlo Nadera also suffered his share of setbacks.

Back in Round 2, Nadera who was forced to a draw by the 15-year old John Francis Balbona lost to the University of San Jose-Recoletos varsity player Ramil Wadim in Round 6 before recovering and winning his Round 7 match over Richard Natividad.

Yap, who had 5.0 points and Nadera who had 5.5 were paired in Round 8 yesterday.

Diano on the other hand, who carried 4.5 points entering Round 6, defeated Glicerio Pardillo, then pulled down Wadim in Round 7 to get a share of the top spot with Montoya.

Six other players could still move things around—Roque, Fide Master Anthony Makinano, Macau Asean Plus Age Group Chess Championship bound Rhenzi Kyle Sevillano, Venancio Loyola, Cagayan de Oro City-based Johnnel Balquin and NM Cadiz, who all had 6.0 points respectively.

However, after Round 8, the list of players who will be playing for the champions’ prize will be reduced dramatically. (RCM)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on June 01, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam