Cebu City, Province send softball squads to PNG

-A A +A

Friday, May 16, 2014

TWO Cebu-based softball teams will troop to Marikina City next week to represent Cebu City and Cebu Province for the POC-PSC Philippine National Games (PNG) on May 20 to 25.

The Cebu City Sports Commission (CCSC), who will send 258 coaches, athletes and officials, has included softball delegation this year. Cebu City softball team finished third place in 2011 PNG at Bacolod under coach Isaac Bacarisas.

This year’s Cebu City team will headed by coach Dionisio Bacarisas, who led his Salazar Colleges of Science Institute and Technology (SCSIT) team to silver medal in the 2011 PNG.


“The last time we competed in PNG was in 2011. This year, our team has limited practice time because some players are working. But they are physically prepared to play next week,” Bacarissas told Sun.Star Cebu yesterday.

The team members are John Paul Magno, Luis Bacarisas, Russell Cabrera, Arnel Visoc, Sherwin Fernandez, Abrine Pautan, Jordan Bacarisas, Isaac Bacarisas, Edsel Bacarisas, Jommel Ramos, Emerson Atillano, Reynante Acunia, Darius Bacarisas, Ben Maraviles, Ben Arkoncel, Jackson Genolaga and Oscar Bradshaw.

The Cebu Province softball team, on the other hand, will be manned by head coach Segundino Dela Cerna, assistant coach Roberto Solon, and playing coach Gregorio Dela Cerna.

Gregorio, a former player and coach of the Blu Boys, former head coach in the 2007 Southeast Asian Games, offers his experience and leadership to the team in this year’s PNG.

“We have prepared for almost three weeks. I’m not going to guarantee that we are going to be on the medal contention since a lot of strong teams will participate, but definitely to qualify in the top four is our target so far,” he added.

The Cebu Province team will have Marlon Cabrera, Arnel Englis, Jonathan Burgos, Joshua Rafanan, Douglas Turtoza, Santino Ladisla, Paul John Unabia. P01 McDuffie Dela Cerna, Ananias Dela Cerna, Henry Hank Castañares, John Rhoider Abella, Gregorio Dela Cerna, Marciano Sta.Maria, Oscar Macoy Cruz, Danny Cabiging, Ryan Dacayana, Avelino Unabia, Rolando Dela Cerna and Alintone Adolfo. (RSC)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on May 17, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper