Cebu Chiefs win 4th nat’l. title

-A A +A

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

THE Cebu City Chiefs beat Manila Arrowheads, 20-14, and claimed its fourth consecutive crown in the 2014 Philippine National Flag Football Championships last Sunday at The East Visayan Academy.

The Chiefs, who were coached by David Joseph Shields, dominated the entire tournament and only faced a solid challenge from the Arrowheads in the finals contest, which Cebu won, 20-14.

The Arrowheads actually drew first blood as wide receiver Dino Teves scored a touchdown early on. But the Chiefs’ wide receivers Noe Sabellon and Anthony Eumague answered with two quick touchdowns for the chiefs to lead, 13-6, at the turn.


The Arrowheads showed persistence in the second half, with Teves and Emilio Lim scoring a touchdown and a two-point conversion to give the lead back to the Arrowheads, 13-14.

The Arrowheads were silenced in the last five minutes when running back El-El Enopia scored a touchdown from a throw by Chiefs’ quarterback Ronald Abangan for the final count. (RSC)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on April 10, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam