Lim defies advice, finally tops age group

-A A +A

Sunday, March 16, 2014

AFTER two failed attempts, Jose Merdino Lim finally captured the top spot in the 30-34 age group of the 2014 Xterra Challenge yesterday in Liloan, Cebu.

Lim, 34, finished seventh in his first try in 2012 and was fourth last year.

“If you really want something, you really have to push for it. It’s like going beyond your limits. This is my dream and this is my last race in the 30-34 age group,” said Lim.


Lim is among the six Cebuanos of Team Reborn who will race in the Ironman Asia-Pacific Championship on March 23. He was advised by his team mates to skip this year’s Xterra race because he might get injured.

However, Lim took the risk and despite the presence of tough triathletes, it paid off.

“At first I was thinking, if I won’t race, sayang ang opportunity. So I decided to race. During the race, when I went out of the water, kahibaw ko nag una ko sa tanan sa akong age group, even after the bike I was still leading so I told myself to finish the race once and for all,” said Lim.

Lim said the race course was good and challenging, especially the bike segment which he considered as one the toughest courses in the whole Xterra races.

“I did the Maui World Championship last year; if I compare this to Maui, the course here is much better and and more difficult,” said Lim.

Lim completed the 1.5K swim, 36K bike and 9.40K run in 3:47: 39 and beat James Dimco and Richardo Salvador.

In the other age groups, Noel Salvador (3:43:32) topped the 40-44 age group over Richard Santiago (4:12:26) and Raoul Floresca (4:16:35). In the 45-49, Glenn Precioso Gonzalez (3:45:28) beat Jose Leal (3:52:09) and Jose Mari Colmenares (4:07:59).

John Sadler captured the 50-54 age group in 4:08:31. He was followed by Tetsuya Sugimori (4:19:25) and Mark Walters (4:34:37).

Hugo Jones was the lone winner in the 55-59 in 5:20:47. In the men’s full relay, John Paul Yap, Mark Macabinta and John Paul Fernandez, won over the team 80-80 triathlon of Steffan Maniquis, Wayne Congmon and Niño Bascon. The Pyroworks team of Warren Vergara, Joel and Henson Sacay got third place.

Alton Lorenzo Amor, Luis Vicente Loot and Lorma Amor bagged the full mixed-relay over Prince Warehouse’s Robert Go, Edgar Tanu and Coleen Digaman. Fr. Brian Brigoli, Loyde Alcoseba and Maricor Baclay got third place.

In the women’s age group. Angelica Yvonne Limjoco captured the 25-29 title in 4:53:45, beating Topy Sigmond (5:51:49). Ylang-Ylang Jordan won the 30-34 in 5:47:28. Maria Margarita Hizon took the 35-39 in 5:43:55 and beat Lourdes Doreen Feraren (6:03:43).

Erica Dueger won the 50-54 in 4:12:16.

In the lite category, Ray Nathaniel Mangubat completed the 500m swim, 18K bike and 5.20K run in 2:01:07 to capture the men’s 15-17 age group title.

In the 18-24, Donray Noval took the title in 1:58:50 over Jose Gabriel Soberano (2:25:54) and Gian Alfonso Ylaya (2:29).

Joevane Villarico topped the 25-29 in 2:01:27 over Ramjay Divinagracia (2:21:57) and Aiken Aingley Ting (2:26:21).

In the 30-34, Herwin Raymond Tan (2:24:31) took the title over Garry Garcia (2:29:57) and Jonathan Flordelis (2:35:08), while Rolan Maquilan took the 35-39 age group in 2:18:47 over Craig James (2:21:34) and Lloyd Ryan Abella (2:33:56).

Dunn Lawrence Sahagun (2:16:46) captured the 40-44 age group over Alvin Magpantay (2:35:45) and Nogie Biagan (2:41:05), and in the 45-49 age group, Ray Anthony Ramos (2:39:07) won the title over Edwin Pacatang (2:43:40) and Joselito Nigofranco (2:48:03). The 50-54 title went to Philip Ceasariu Rubi (3:12:02), while Robert Tan (3:16:05) and Danilo Ucang (3:21:10), got second and third places, respectively.

In the women’s division, Bernice Francisco topped the 25-29 age group in 4:14:41; Gelyn Nigofranco won the 35-39 group in 3:00:25 over Genevieve Yu (3:13:11) and Rhea Jamisola (3:29:31).

In the 40-44 age group, Arlene Infante captured the title in 3:06:20 over Ma. Florence Juarez (3:37:01) and Yvette Kim (4:45:32), while Ma. Candize Belza won the 45-49 title in 3:55:12.

In the relay lite, the all-men relay team title was captured by Juanito Mahinay Jr., Edshyl Brananola and Joebert Carolino, while the all-women relay title went to Maria Celeste Maniquis, Catrina Martinez and Maia Herrera. The mixed relay was topped by Alyssa Madarang, Gimar Besanes and Aljon Vildosola. (ISL)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on March 16, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper