Ateneo, Lahug win titles in Aboitiz Cup

-A A +A

Saturday, March 8, 2014

ATENEO de Cebu (AdC) and Lahug FC were crowned champions in their divisions of the 16th Aboitiz Football Cup yesterday at the Aboitiz Spots Field.

AdC snagged the Under-11 crown after edging out University of San Carlos (USC)-BED, 2-1; while Lahug FC bagged the Under-9 title with a similar 2-1 win over Don Bosco Technology Center (DBTC)-D.

John Rufin hit the back of the net in the 18th minute to give AdC an early lead. However, Marcos Rayco scored the equalizer in the 35th minute.


James Rufin would score the winning goal in the 46th minute of regulation.

AdC’s Elliot Selma was the division’s top scorer with 20 goals in the tournament. Two of his teammates also got individual awards with Matthew Suico winning the MVP trophy and Kalle Rantti as the Best Goalkeeper.

USC-BED’s Jaypee Flores and Mark Cañido were named Best Midfielder and Best Defender respectively.

John Elmer Toraja scored a quick goal in the second minute, while John Vincent Tajanlangit would make it 2-0 with a goal five minutes after.

Daniel Josol would score an own goal for the final tally.

DBTC-A’s Alexander Villarosa was the Under-9 division’s top scorer with nine goals. Lahug FC’s John Daniel Betinol was named MVP while his teammate Nicky Apura was the Best Goalkeeper.

DBTC’s Joseph Garces and Joross Tabor were named Best Midfielder and Best Defender respectively.

DBTC-1 finished with third place honors after beating Lahug FC-A, 1-0, in the Under-11 division; while DBTC-A won the battle-for-third match with sister squad DBTC-B, 5-1, in the Under-9 division.

In the meantime in the Boys Under-15 division semi-finals, DBTC-2 beat Springdale, 3-0, in penalty shootout due to the impressive goalkeeping by Jessie Semblante.

Semblante, who was invited to join the Little Azkals training pool, proved that he is worthy to represent the country catching all three penalty shot by Springdale.

Kyle Ronquillo, who was also invited to the RP Under-14 training pool, Jonas Anor and Gianrosner Teves all converted their penalty shots to steer DBTC-2 to the championships.

The other Boys Under-15 semi-finals match between AdC and Abellana National School-Pomeroy will played today at the DBTC football pitch.

In the Under-13 age group, AdC defeated Warzhockz, 1-0; Subabasbas thrashed Inayawan FC, 7-0; DBTC-1 won against Phoenix FC, 3-0; and Giuseppe FC crushed Springdale, 4-0.

In the Boys Under-18 category, Springdale demolished Liloan SFC, 5-0; DBTC annihilated SJS-M 19-0; Alcoy FC defeated Mactan Camellanz, 3-0; and Cebu International School was victorious against USC-BED, 3-0. (EKA)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on March 09, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam