Cebu jins win 5 golds in nat’l tilt

-A A +A

Monday, February 3, 2014

THE Cebu Taekwondo team had an impressive display in the national scene once again.

Cebu City snagged four gold medals in poomsae and a lone gold medal in sparring in the Carlos Palanca Jr. (CPJ) Taekwondo Championships at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium in Manila last weekend.

Maegan Bugarin took home the gold in the junior women’s division, Mac Alob in the junior men’s division, Aidaine Laxa in the cadet girls category and Clement Tan in the cadet boys division. Veronica grabbed the only gold medal for Cebu in sparring in the finweight division.


“We were overwhelming in poomsae, where we won six in the eight events we entered.

Only 11 events were staged in poomsae,” Philippine Taekwondo Association (PTA) Region 7 Chairman Tony del Prado told Sun.Star Cebu. “We swept all the gold medals at stake in the cadet (12 to 14) and junior (15-17) divisions.”

The CPJ Taekwondo Championships is an annual venue for the national team selection.

World champion Glenn Lava won a silver medal in the senior 2 division in poomsae. The bronze medal winners in poomsae were Nichole Maurin, Mattew Bugarin, Cheyena de la Fuente, Kobe Hayrana and Robie Gayle Navales.

Ann Sharmaine Albarracin and Wendil Jay Rama also won silver medals, while Ma. Carmela Coran, Melody Jane Infante and James Louie Callino grabbed bronze medals.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on February 04, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!