UV, SWU All-Stars rivalry up

-A A +A

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

THE rivalry between the UV Green Lancers and SWU Cobras is extended until the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. (Cesafi) All-Star match this Sunday at the Cebu Coliseum.

As Cesafi took a brief respite to give way to the annual All-Star Game, rivals Lancers and Cobras dominated the line-up of the East and West Teams, respectively.

UV, which belongs to the East squad, had eight players in the line-up, while SWU will lead the West team with seven players in the line-up.


In addition, UV head coach Felix “Donbel” Belano Jr. will call the shots for the East team, while SWU mentor Raul “Yayoy” Alcoseba will coach the West.

East players, including Mike Harry Nzeusseu, John Abad, Hernal Escosio, Arvie Cabanero, Alfred Codilla, Cris Perolino, Raffy Octobre and Francisco Arong, will be joined by USC’s Ahmed Salihou, Stephen Que, Miguel Plata, Ian Ortega and Nico Magat and CIT-U’s Floyd Taboada and Joshua de la Cerna.

While Monbert Arong, Mark Jayven Tallo, Bernie Bregondo, Darryl Goloran, Adams Mohammad, Fabrice Siewe and Landry Sanjo will be joined by James Regalado, Kyle Lajato and Miguel Tabaloc of USJ-R, Kim Gomez, Noel Villanueva and Jan Auditor of UC and Jomari Sollano and Art Camello of USPF.

Best shooters

The league’s best shooters will also vie for the league’s deadliest gun title—UV will send Venhur Villamor, USC is represented by Miguel Plata and Victor Rabat, SWU will have Monbert Arong and Mark Tallo, UC sends Kim Gomez and Noel Villanueva, James Regalado of USJ-R and Michael Smith for USPF.

In the slam dunk competition, Leonard Santillan will try to keep the crown for UV as Jomari Sollano and Artemio Camello of USPF, Garciano Puerto of UC and Fletcher Galvez of USJ-R are the other contenders.

The All-Star Sunday will open with the High School All-Star Game.

East team

The East team, which will be coached by Delfin Pepito of UV, will have Mark Roa, Mac Obado, John Ibot, Christopher Tan and Richmond Buli-Buli of CEC, Prince Canete, John Escalona, Kent Manzo, Ernesto Limetares and Joshua Flores from UV, Airam Cantillas and John Bahio of USPF and Jesse Aloro, Jonher Espina and Benedict Nazareno of CIT-U.

Their opponent from the West will be coached by Rommel Rasmo of SHS-AdC will have his players Jair Igna, Lance Huang, Arnie Padilla, Jan Jan Jaboneta, Gio Laguyo and Lucky Ecarma, Paul Galinato, Carlo Ortega Clint Suelto of USC, Justine Dacalos, Darrel Menina and Nino Paon of UC, John King, Bryan Divinagracia and Steven del Campo of DBTC.

The 3-point shoot and slam dunk competition will follow the high school game. After which, the awarding of plaque of recognition, will be given to Junemar Fajardo, a member of the Gilas Pilipinas squad that won silver medal in the recently concluded 27th Fiba-Asia Men’s Championship held last month, will follow.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on September 11, 2013.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam