Cebuano motocross ace shines thru

-A A +A

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

CEBUANO motocross ace Jon-Jon Adlawan got himself back into the race for the top rider of the year after finishing ahead of front-running Glenn Aguilar in the Tacloban City leg of the Kopiko Three-in-One Astig Supercross Series 2013.

Adlawan topped the Pro Open (450cc and Up) Category while he placed second in the Pro Lites (250cc) class to narrow the gap that Aguilar built through five rounds in this Man and Machine Promotions-organized motocross race.

It was a close battle between Adlawan and Davao City native Rhowell Bornok Mangusong IV in the Pro Open class, but the Cebuano daredevil eventually prevailed.


Mangusong took the second place and Aguilar placed third, while Ambo Yapparcon and Dondon Yuzon took their places on the winners’ podium for finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.

Mangusong, however, took the best finish in the Pro Lites Class as he defeated Adlawan to stand at the highest part of the podium. Again, Aguilar took the third place finish and another Cebuano daredevil, Jubenile Abellar, finished fourth and JC Rellosa placed fifth.

The result of the Tacloban race added more excitement when the series will visit Cagayan de Oro City on July 27 and 28 for the seventh leg.

Meanwhile, the equally exciting Intermediate Category was won by Ozamiz City-based Ted Conde with Noynoy Rellosa, Ambo Yapparcon, Jacob Orbe and JC Rellosa finishing behind.

Orbe, meanwhile, took the Novice Open Production race and was followed by Christopher Jules Bandigan, Dexter Bacabac, Jovanni Abellar and Krystian Paul Celebrado.

Pia Gabriel took the Women’s Category title with RK Cuesta and Micah Yap Quilban taking the next two places, while the team title was won by Team Masimot with Team Kopiko and Team Pacquiao taking the other two places.

The winners in the other categories were Jaypee Glenn Gaid (Peewee 50cc), upstart Cebuano rider BJ Pepito (Peewee 65cc), Maclean Aguilar (Mini), Jed Luna (Local Enduro), Jeffward Torio (Open Enduro), Tristan Galanto (Veterans C), John Fernandez (Veterans B), Rex Barbaso (Veterans A), Felson Ray Baculpo (Underbone) and Christopher Jules Bandigan (Beginners Open).

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on June 26, 2013.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam