Tatak U.P.

-A A +A

Sunday, January 26, 2014

THREE artists, three engineers, three lawyers, three educators, three medical doctors, one writer, one economist, one police woman, and one media practitioner and--just before you think there’s a fixation on three’s and one’s--two advocates of environment and sustainability.

They total 21, all recipients of the “Tatak U.P. Award” this year.

Their baccalaureate or graduate degrees from U.P. defined their field of work and specialization, and eventually where they carved their names in their chosen profession. But a record of giving back to the community distinguished them from other nominees, and so defined them as noteworthy recipients of the “Tatak U.P. Award,” symbolized by the Oblation statuette.


So here they are. The artists: Javy Villacin, Mariano Vidal, and Errol (a.k.a. Budoy) Marabiles. The engineers: Zoilo Cortes, Virgilio Abellana and William “Wally” Christopher Liu. The lawyers: Manuel S. Go, Jasmine S. Oporto and Ian Manticajon. The educators: Dr. Rhodora Bucoy, Dr. Hope Yu, and Dr. Sofia Logarta. The doctors: Crispin Diaz, Jesusito Zubiri and Gaudencio Hermosisima (Posthumous award); and Dr. Erlinda K. Alburo, the writer; Dr. Florian Alburo, the economist; Ma. Theresa Mactangay, the policewoman; Michelle P. So, the media practitioner; and May Segura-Ybañez and Edna Lee, the advocates for environment and sustainability, respectively.

Of the 21 awardees, five are for the category Arts, Design and Culture (Erlinda Alburo, Hope Yu, Javy Villacin, Errol Marabiles and Mariano Vidal.

Two are for Law (Manuel S. Go and Jasmine Oporto); two for Business and Entrepreneurship (Florian Alburo and Wally Liu); and two for Science and Technology (Zoilo Cortes and Virgilio Abellana).

One is for Public Service (Ma. Theresa Macatangay); one is for Education (Sofia Logarta); and one for Media and Communication (Michelle So).

Four are for Social Change and Advocacy (Rhodora Bucoy for gender equality and women empowerment, Ian Manticajon for community empowerment, May Ybañez for environmental conservation, and Edna Lee for sustainability development).

Three are for Public Health and Medicine (Crispin Diaz, Jesusito Zubiri and Gaudencio Hermosisima).

The awardees are among the nominees for the “Tatak U.P.” search that started in August 2013. Launched in 2011, the award is given out every two years to alumni who are either based in Cebu, or regularly do business or render service in Cebu.

Qualified for nomination are U.P. graduates; those who must have earned at least 30 units of collegiate/graduate degree; non-UP graduates among the faculty who have taught for at least five years within the U.P. System; those who finished short-term courses in any U.P. program; or for those in medicine, those who completed at least three years of studies.

Nominees must stand out in their field of expertise and have in return made a positive impact and demonstrated social conscience in their fields.

U.P. alumni who had already been recognized in previous years by other UP awarding groups within the UP System were exempted from nominations for “Tatak U.P.”

Keynote speaker at this Wednesday’s awarding ceremonies is Cebu Gov. Hilario Davide III who himself received the “Tatak U.P.” award in 2011.


Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on January 27, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!