‘70 sitios in city have no power’

-A A +A

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

THE Cebu City Government wants the Department of Energy (DOE) to provide electrical connection to 70 sitios in 29 barangays in the city.

The request came in the form of a resolution adopted by the City Council on July 23.

The resolution, filed by Councilor Nestor Archival as chairperson of the City Council committee on energy, asks the DOE to energize the sitios through its Electrification Fund.


The resolution cited DOE Energy Resolution 1-94, which provides that a generation company and/or resource developer should set aside one centavo per kilowatt hour of its total electricity sales to provide financial benefits to host communities.

Archival pointed out that Cebu City hosts Cebu Private Power Corp., whose diesel power plant is located in Ermita.

He said Republic Act 9163 or the Electric Power Industry Reform Act requires power generation companies and energy resource developers to develop communities hosting energy-generating facilities.

The City Council has furnished DOE a list of sitios that still do not have electricity. They are: Cambilog, Agbagon and Luyo in Adlaon; Agbucan and Agnawi in Agsungot; Tugob, Hamtik and Upper Cambitas in Babag; Donguan, Agpasan and Binaliw in Binaliw; and Taytayan, Puso, Tubod and Dulhugan in Buhisan.

Sitio Hab-on in Bonbon; Laong, Cambaog and Baugo in Barangay Budlaan; Tonggo and Patan-on in Banilad; Mahayahay and Bouao in Cambinocot; Agnawe and Proper Agsungot in Guba; Upper and Lower in Kalunasan; Sugbo, Rio 1 and Rio 2 in Lahug; and Lusaran, Laguna, Lipoton, Mangabon, Hagimit, Tapul, Lomboy and Kan-atis in Lusaran.

Also without electricity are: Sitios Eskuylahan and Bungtod in Mabini; Lower Malubog, Kan-irag and Dao in Malubog; Upper Kantisang, Baugo, Lower Kantisang, and Kansikla in Paril; Mambao in Pamutan; and Manguyas and Cambios in Pulangbato.

Also Sitios Kaughay in Pung-ol Sibugay; Pasilagon, Purok 4 and Baugo in San Jose; Kalambuyan in Toong; Macmac in Sinsin; Kan-irag and Cambios in Sirao; and Hoya and Quinto Limbo in Tisa.

The list also includes Sitios Alpagate and Panas in Sudlon I; Balisung and Kulabtingon in Sudlon II; Udlom and Sayaw in Tabunan; Roblis in Tagbao; and Sitios Mangabon, Liputon and Awayan in Lusaran.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on July 30, 2014.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!