Panabo bet lords it over in Carmen pre-fiesta chess fest

-A A +A

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

DIFFERENTLY-abled Henry Roger Lopez of Panabo, Davao del Norte came, saw and conquered the pre-fiesta Carmen Open chess tournament concluded last Sunday in Cagayan de Oro.

Despite splitting the point with home boy Lyndon Lumancas in the 8th and final round, the visitor still amassed 6.5 points good enough for a solo win of the P10,000 top purse.

“What’s good in chess kay walay disparity sa abilidad sa utok maskin physically-impaired ka,” observed tournament director Jokorn Maestrado.
Lumancas shared second to fifth places with fellow 6.5-pointers in local compatriots Eutemio Coquilla, Allan Cantonjos and Johnnel Balquin, though each one of them got P6,000, P4,000 and P2,000 plus trophies after the Bucholz tiebreaker.


A total of 88 players took part in the Open division that saw National Master Rustum Tolentino, Jeriel Manlimbana, Rodney Opada, Abner Cantonjos and brgy. 23 chairman Jaime Joshua Frias II making it to the top-10 list.
Recipients of the category prize awards were top senior Oscar Arroyo, top lady Kristine de los Reyes, top 14-under Chino Ranario, top students Vincent Cayaba and Aljie Cantonjos and top unrated Elias Balase who received P1,000 apiece.

Close to 50 more participants dueled it out in kiddies category of the two-day chessfest sponsored by the Barangay Council of Carmen. And after the smoke of battle cleared, West City Central School bet Althea Nicole Borres emerged solo champion with 6.5 points to show in seven rounds.
Borres got P1,000 plus trophy for her feat.

“Kuyaw na gyod ang mga tinudloan ni coach Ubanan (Nazario). Babae iyang player pero mao pa gyoy ni-champion,” said Maestrado who was consistent in organizing the annual Carmen chess tournament supported by first district Rep. Rolando “Klarex” Uy.

Clyde Harris Saraos, Cressler Bruce Gabing and Vanessa Magno placed second to fourth places to receive P600, P400 and P200 plus trophies.
Rounding up the top-10 circle were Karl Honculada, Andrix Josh Felisilda, Christian Jay Arrabis, Lorebina Carrasco, Brylle Joshua Logroño and Mary Joy Tan who settled for P100 each plus medals.

Published in the Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro newspaper on July 16, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!