Bethel-B’non, Sacred Heart show the way in 2014 Sea Oil NBTC league

-A A +A

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

SACRED Heart of Jesus Montessori School proved that they’re still a force to reckon with, hammering out a thrilling 104-97 win over Xavier University High School in the 2014 Cagayan de Oro championship of the Sea Oil National Basketball Training Center (NBTC) League concluded on Sunday at the XU gym.

Taking a commanding twin-digit lead behind the monstrous scoring of Jerome Earl Menaling and eventual MVP Glenn Gallardo, the Sacred Heart Saints of coach Boy Dacoco got threatened, however, in the fourth and final quarter when the five-some of Jaio Waban, Kiko Baltazar, Earl Areola, Jerode David and Andre Sabal conspired for XU’s mighty charge.

In fact, the Junior Crusaders were able to cut the Saints’ 14-point spread to only four plus sending Jaio Waban to the free-throw line with still 34 seconds left.


“Kon iyang na-convert ang duha ka free-throws ma-pressure na among side kay mo-shift naman dayon ang momentum,” said one Sacred Heart parent Rey Tubac of Waban who vainly countered Menaling’s 34 and Gallardo’s 29 with his own individual score of 38 points.

The host squad controlled the game early, leading by as many as 6 points in the first two quarters when the all-around Gallardo—who was likened by NBTC Mindanao area coordinator Arvin Martinez to NBA star’s Kevin Durant—reasserted his supremacy in scoring, blocking and rebounding departments.

“We lost to a better team, but at least the boys did us favor by showing their never-say-die spirit. We’re very proud of what they’ve shown against Sacred Heart,” said Manny Diaz’s assistant coach Richard “Chef” Ocampo.

As Xavier University High School parted ways with Assumption Montessori School by rout in the semifinal round, Sacred Heart made it to the local NBTC Finals via the hard way: a 2-point victory against coach Menes Anciado’s Corpus Christi Knights, 98-96.

“Yes, kadtong dula namo sa Corpus ang pinaka-crucial, though galisod gihapon `mi sa Xavier,” Dacoco shared.

Completing Sacred Heart’s triumphant roster are Dandreb Antonio, Rovin Ray Fabiaña, Joseph Elmer Rodriguez, AJ Garcia, Placid Jonrey Floirendo, Vincent Bollozos, Nelmar Halasan, Emmanuel Akut, , John Ivan Garong, MJ Casiño, Michael Usman, Ryan Carl Tubac and Chezter Jan Maagad.

Meanwhile, capping the NBTC Mindanao Division 2’s final matches played at same venue was Bethel Academy-Malaybalay City’s whitewashing of Butuan City’s Agusan National High School, 73-49.

La Salle Iligan finished third behind Bethel-Bukidnon and second-running Agusan National High School.

Both Sacred Heart of Cagayan de Oro and Bethel-Bukidnon will represent the regions in the league’s forthcoming National Finals in Manila.

“There’s really a big difference between playing basketball and coaching a team. Lisod gyod diay kaayo mag coach, pero naningkamot ko nga ma-prove sa among school management nga naa gyoy ma-achieve ang team basta naa lay ensakto nga programa unya trabahoon,” said Bethel Academy coach Jester “Bimbo” Adams, once a star player of Cagayan de Oro College and ACSAT senior varsity teams.

No less than Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Oscar S. Moreno and PBA legend Eric Altamirano, NBTC program director, came to watch the twin-league’s finale before a sizable crowd.

In a later interview, Altamirano said the quantum leap development of the NBTC League would always be a thing of wonderment.

“In the very beginning, we started our provincial leagues in just three cities. Now, we’re in 32 cities nationwide and I can’t see the same magnitude of development that our Sea Oil-backed basketball program is experiencing right now,” Altamirano told Sun*Star Cagayan de Oro.

The scores:

NBTC Mindanao Division 2

Bethel Bukidnon 73—Rafa Limahr 17, Pagud Chemvel 17, EnojardoLeonard 10, Panga Christian 8, Jumawan Charles 7, Monsanto Jason 5, Odog Jason 4, Huiso Jefferson 3, Praile Hernani 2

Agusan Nat’l High School 49—Inocencio Clent 20, Macapanton Louie Jay 12, Escobido Vincent 6, Ligan Antonio 4, Barruca Dan Angelo 2, Tuazon Adrian Rey 2, Plaza Kevin 2, Brodeth John Oliver 1.


Sacred Heart 104 -- Menaling 34, Gallardo 29, Fabiana 21, Antonio 6, Floirendo 5, Akut 5, Garcia 2, Maagad 2.

Xavier U High School 97—Waban 38, Baltazar 15, Areola 12, David 8, Sabal 6, Dalde 6, Eufinado 6, Negre 2, Ramires 2, Koga 2.

Published in the Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro newspaper on February 12, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!