DOE, MinDA lead Mindanao Energy Plan gab

-A A +A

Thursday, February 20, 2014

BUTUAN CITY – A total of 92 participants from the different government agencies, local government units, non-government organizations, students and electric cooperatives of the Caraga region participated in the whole day public consultation on the Mindanao Energy Plan 2013-2030 and Information, Education and Communication (IEC) campaign on Energy Efficiency and conservation on Wednesday.

The event, initiated by the Department of Energy (DOE) in partnership with the Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA), is pursuant to the overall thrust and direction of ensuring energy security, achieving optimal energy pricing and developing a sustainable energy system in Mindanao.

During the activity, MinDA Planning and Research division chief Estrella Turingan said based on the Mindanao Development Plan, energy is vital to economic progress because "it fuels our development."


Turingan said that Mindanao is contributing 14 percent to the Philippines economy in the year 2012.

DOE-EPPB Director Carmencita Bariso, while presenting the Mindanao Energy Plan, said three of the largest oil and gas basins in the Philippines are located in Mindanao – Cotabato, Agusan-Davao and Sulu Sea, and also, four of the major coal basins are located in Zamboanga, Davao, Cotabao-Sarangani and Surigao with a total resource potential of 704.4 million metric tons.

Bariso also said there are 33 Coal Operating Contract (COC) holders in Mindanao, 14 for exploration and 12 in development and production.

During the year 2013, a total of seven exploration contracts were awarded.

Meanwhile, DOE said that the two biodiesel producers in the Philippines are located in Mindanao: 1) Bioenergy 8 Corporation in Sasa, Davao City with 30 million liters production capacity from coconut oil; and 2) Freyvonne Milling Services in Toril, Davao City with 15.6 million liters production capacity from copra.

For 2012, the Mindanao’s household electrification level reached to 54.25 percent.

The different types of fuel was also presented by DOE Undersecretary for Power and Energy Planning Raul Aguillos, which include Coal, Oil Based, Geothermal, Hydro, Solar, and Biomass. (PIA-Caraga)

Published in the Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro newspaper on February 20, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!