Cebuana wins Mutya ng Pilipinas 2014

-A A +A

Sunday, August 10, 2014

CEBU CITY -- Another Cebuana made it to the country’s long list of beauty queens, as Cebu’s pride Eva Psychee Patalinjug, 20, was crowned Mutya ng Pilipinas-Asia Pacific International Friday night.

Replay of the pageant held at the Solaire Hotel and Casino in Parañaque City was shown Sunday noon on GMA 7.

Asked how she will educate young people about gender equality, Patalinhug answered: “In a new era today we have our own opinions, and that must be respected. Gender equality must be respected, as well as those people that need to be educated. We must be upholding and respecting each other. We have different kinds of principles and values in life. We are unique and beautiful in own way. That’s why I’m urging every one of you to respect each other. Let love and respect reign in our hearts, so that world peace will be upon us.”

Patalinhug, who was named Miss Cebu 2014 first-runner up last January, also won the Best in Swimsuit, Designers Competition, Mutya ng Solaire, and Mutya Viva Discovery awards.

Gleniffer Perido, of Cordillera region, won the title of Mutya ng Pilipinas-Tourism International, while Patrizia Bosco, who represented the community of Milan, was named the Mutya ng Pilpinas-Overseas Communities.

Named first runner-up was Cristine Racel of Olongapo City, while second runner-up was Kim Fyfe of Australia.

Outgoing Mutya ng Pilipinas Asia Pacific International 2013 Koreen Medina and Mutya ng Pilipinas Tourism International Angeli Dione Gomez, also a Cebuana, crowned the winners Friday.

Below are the special awards:

Miss Friendship -- Pauline Edralin
Mutya ng Pilipinas Tourism Nueva Ecija -- Jackielyn Dulay
Best in Swimsuit -- Eva Psychee Patalinjug
Miss Photogenic -- Dorina Doerr
Best in Long Gown -- Glennifer Perido
Designers Competition -- Eva Psychee Patalinjug
Mutya ng Pilipinas Choice Award -- Christina De Vries
Mutya ng Solaire -- Eva Psychee Patalinjug
Mutya Viva Discovery -- Eva Psychee Patalinjug

Patalinjug works as a commercial model under the Models Association of Cebu (MAC) agency.

Other Cebuano beauties who also won major Mutya titles two years in a row were Rizzini Alexis Gomez (2012) and Angeli Dione Gomez (2013). The two are not related.

This year, Kris Tiffany Janson, another Cebuana, was crowned the first-ever Binibining Pilipinas-Intercontinental title, while Jamie Herrell won the Miss Philippines-Earth title. (Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!