Cebu towns to be covered by tourism water supply project

-A A +A

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

FIVE towns and city in Cebu province will be among the beneficiaries of the Tourism Water Supply Infrastructure Program (TWSIP) whose implementation will start this year, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) said Wednesday.

The municipalities in Cebu, which will be provided with potable water supply include Aloguinsan, Toledo City, San Fernando, Sibonga and Cordoba, said DPWH Secretary Rogelio Singson.

The other areas in Central Visayas, which will also benefit from the project include Jetafe, Talibon, and Trinidad, all in Bohol province.

Singson said the DPWH is now set to begin with the water source development and corresponding detailed engineering design of projects that were identified in coordination with the Department of Tourism (DOT), Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA), and the National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC) following the release of P1.73 billion by the Department of Budget and Management.

Areas that were identified as recipients of the project are considered in-need locations or those that have remain waterless for years, but have potential for growth particularly in the tourism industry.

"Tourism spots need to have safe and sustainable water supply to further enhance its tourism potential. This will be addressed once our water supply projects are completed," Singson said.

"Our target is to start the implementation of TWSIP as soon as possible," he added.

The other municipalities that will be covered by the project are: Currimao and San Nicolas in Ilocos Norte (Ilocos Region); Baguio City in Benguet (Cordillera Administrative Region); Roxas and El Nido in Palawan (Region 4B); Aroroy in Masbate (Bicol Region); Murcia and San Carlos City in Negros Occidental, Balete and Libacao in Aklan; Jamindan and President Roxas in Capiz and Passi in Iloilo (Western Visayas).

Adding to the beneficiaries are two areas in Western Mindanao namely Dapitan City in Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga City in Zamboanga del Sur; one in Northern Mindanao namely Barangay Carmen, Cagayan de Oro in Misamis Oriental; with six in Davao Region namely: Nabunturan and Montevista in Compostela Valley and Asuncio, Braulio E Dujali, Carmen and New Corella in Davao del Norte. (SDR/Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Sinulog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Technology
  • Festivals
  • goodearth
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper
  • Habemus Papam
  • Obituary