Aquino names 2 new members of Monetary Board

-A A +A

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

PRESIDENT Benigno Aquino III has appointed two new members of the Monetary Board of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), a Palace official said Wednesday.

As conveyed by Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. to Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima, the new appointees are: Juan de Zuniga Jr. and Valentin Araneta, who will each serve a six-year term of office, said Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary Herminio Coloma Jr.

De Zuniga had been appointed as Monetary Board member last May to serve the unexpired term of Ignacio Bunye, who advanced his retirement. Araneta replaced Peter Favila, who retired recently.

De Zuniga served previously as BSP Deputy Governor, Assistant Governor and General Counsel.

Prior to his appointment, Araneta was President and Chief Executive Officer of the Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation. (SDR/Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam