Aquino declares 2014 as Iglesia ni Cristo Centennial Year

-A A +A

Friday, July 4, 2014

PRESIDENT Benigno Aquino III has issued a proclamation for the centennial celebration of Iglesia Ni Cristo (INC).

Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary Herminio Coloma Jr. said Friday that Aquino signed on July 2 Proclamation 815 "Declaring Year 2014 as Iglesia ni Cristo Centennial Year."

The Iglesia ni Cristo will be celebrating its centennial on July 27 this year. It is the largest homegrown Christian church in the Philippines, with ministries in at least 102 countries.

"Proclamation 815 was issued to enhance public awareness on the contributions of the Iglesia ni Cristo to national development," Coloma said.

The same proclamation likewise directed the Postmaster General to cause the design, printing and issuance of a special postage stamp to commemorate the said event.

The Office of the President, on July 3, also issued Memorandum Circular 66, directing the creation of "Task Force Sentenaryo" for the INC centennial celebration, Coloma said.

Considering the large number of Filipinos from here and abroad who will participate in the said event, to be held on July 27 at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan, "Task Force Sentenaryo" will be in charge of all actions and responses in connection with the said event, he said.

The task force may call upon any department, bureau, agency or instrumentality of the government, local government units, nongovernment organizations, and the private sector for assistance.

Task Force Sentenaryo will be headed by Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman Francis Tolentino.

The members of the task force include Secretary of Defense Voltaire Gazmin; Secretary of Interior and Local Government Manuel Roxas II; Secretary of Public Works Rogelio Singson; Secretary of Health Enrique Ona; Coloma; General Emmanuel Bautista, Armed Forces Chief of Staff; Police Director General Alan Purisima, Chief of the Philippine National Police; Winston Ginez, Chairman of the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board; Juan Sta. Ana, General Manager of the Philippine Ports Authority; retired General Jose Angel Honrado, General Manager of the Manila International Airport Authority; Edmundo Reyes, Executive Director of the Toll Regulatory Board; and, a representative from the INC. (SDR/Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper