Bad weather’s damage to infra, agri reaches P256M

-A A +A

Sunday, January 19, 2014

MANILA -- Inclement weather brought by the low-pressure area-turned-tropical depression ‘Agaton’ already caused an estimated PhP256.20 million worth of damages to infrastructure and agriculture in Northern Mindanao, Davao and Caraga Regions in Mindanao.

Latest available National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) data showed that damage to agriculture already reached nearly PhP155.20 million as of 6 a.m. Saturday.

The agency also reported some P101 million worth of damage to infrastructure in the regions as of the same period.

NDRRMC reported monitoring inclement weather-triggered 13 landslides, six flooding/flashflood and two maritime incidents there, the Visayas’ Eastern Visayas region, Zamboanga Peninsula in Mindanao and Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

The government earlier warned about flashfloods and landslides from the low-pressure area which developed into ‘Agaton,’ the first tropical cyclone to enter the country this year.

The damage to agriculture covered some 17,144 hectares of agricultural land in Davao and Caraga regions, NDRRMC continued.

Fourteen bridges, 44 roads and eight public infrastructure facilities in Northern Mindanao, Davao and Caraga sustained damage, NDRRMC also reported.

”Irrigation dams in Aragon and Brgy. Taytayan in Cateel, Davao Oriental were damaged due to flooding,” NDRRMC noted.

NDRRMC likewise reported as “still not passable” some 52 roads and 21 bridges in Zamboanga Peninsula, Northern Mindanao, Davao and Caraga Regions.

Several water pipes in Lanao del Norte province sustained damages as well, NDRRMC further said.

In its 5 a.m. Sunday weather bulletin, Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) reported that Tropical Depression “Agaton” is maintaining its strength as it moves south southwest.

“Agaton” is estimated to be 166 kilometers (km) east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur. Storm Signal No. 1 is still hoisted in the provinces of Surigao del Norte including Siargao Island, Surigao del Sur, Dinagat Province, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Davao Oriental, and Compostella Valley. (PNA/BJA/Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam