New members of Cebu Port Commission named

-A A +A

Friday, March 15, 2013

MANILA -- Malacanang announced Friday new appointments for the members of the Cebu Port Commission, which is under the Cebu Port Authority (CPA).

Deputy presidential spokesperson Abigail Valte, in a news briefing, said that the new appointees will serve the unexpired term of office ending June 2013.

They include Benjamin C. Akol and Marino M. Fernan (replacing Vicente T. Suazo, Jr.) as members representing the shipping sector, Joselito O. Pedaria and Tomas A. Riveral as members representing the cargo handling labor sector, and Carlos G. Co as member representing the business sector.

The Cebu Port Commission is the policy-making body of the CPA, separate from the Philippine Ports Authority, which was tasked to specifically oversee all ports located in Cebu by virtue of Republic Act 7621 signed on June 26, 1992 by then President Corazon Aquino.

Valte said President Benigno Aquino III signed their appointment papers last Thursday, which were immediately transmitted to the office of Transportation and Communications Secretary Joseph Emilio Abaya. (SDR/Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper