PMPC Star Awards for Movies announces winners

-A A +A

Sunday, March 10, 2013

ACTRESS Angel Locsin and Laguna Governor ER Ejercito bagged the top acting trophies in the recently concluded 29th Star Awards for Movies.

Held at AFP Theater in Quezon City Sunday evening, the event was attended by the biggest and brightest starts on the big screen.

Locsin won for her Star Cinema movie "One More Try" opposite Zanjoe Marudo and Dingdong Dantes, while Ejercito for his movie "El Presidente."

"Ina, Kapatid, Anak" actress Janice de Belen and then-child actor Carlo Aquino were hailed Best Supporting Actress and Actor for "Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles" and "Mater Dolorosa," respectively.

Ian Loreños ("Alagwa") was hailed Best Director in the Indie category, while Mark Meily received the same trophy in the mainstream movies for his directorial job in "El Presidente."

"Alagwa" and "El Presidente" both took home the Best Picture awards in their respective category.

Given by the Philippine Movie Press Club, the Star Awards for Movies recognizes the best independent and mainstream films of 2012.

Here's the complete list of winners in independent and/or mainstream movies:

Independent Film Category

Sound Engineer: Ditoy Aguila and Mark Locsin ("Mater Dolorosa")
Musical Scorer: Von de Guzman ("Supremo")
Theme Song: "Saan Ako Tutungo" ("Migrante")
Editor: Dempster Samarista ("Alagwa")
Production Designer: Dante Mendoza ("Thy Womb")
Screenwriter: Ian Loreños ("Alagwa")
Cinematographer: Odyssey Flores ("Thy Womb")
Best Director: Ian Loreños ("Alagwa")
Movie of the Year: "Alagwa"

Mainstream Movie Category

Sound Engineer: Corinne de San Jose and Ditoy Aguila ("Titik: The Aswang Chronicles")
Musical Scorer: Vincent de Jesus ("I Doo Bi Doo Bi Doo")
Theme Song: "Aking Inang Bayan" (El Presidente)
Editor: Jason Cahapay & Ryan Orduna ("El Presidente")
Production Designer: Danny Red and Joel Bilbao ("El Presidente")
Screenwriter: Mark Meily ("El Presidente")
Cinematographer: Carlo Mendoza ("El Presidente")
Best Director: Mark Meily ("El Presidente")
Movie of the Year: "El Presidente"

Indie/Mainstream Movie Category

Child Performer: Bugoy Cariño ("Alagwa")
New Movie Actor: Neil Coleta ("I Doo Bi Doo Bi Doo")
New Movie Actress: Tippy Dos Santos ("I Doo Bi Doo Bi Doo") & Kim Komatsu (Mga Mumunting Lihim")
Best Supporting Actor: Carlo Aquino ("Mater Dolorosa")
Best Supporting Actress: Janice de Belen ("Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles")
Best Actor: Gov. ER Ejercito ("El Presidente")
Best Actress: Angel Locsin ("One More Try")

Senator Lito Lapid was named as this year's recipient of the Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Lifetime Award for his contribution in the field of movies. The trophy was accepted by Lapid's son, Meynard.

The Lifetime Achievement award for Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera was also handed to master cameraman Romy Vitug.

Stars who also graced the event are Karylle, Zia Quizon, Angeline Quinto, Jed Madela, Erik Santos, Cristine Reyes, Toni Gonzaga, Gabriel and Gary Valenciano.

The annual event was hosted by Kapamilya talents Kim Chiu, Iza Calzado and Piolo Pascual.

The 29th PMPC Star Awards for Movies will be shown on March 17 in "Sunday's Best" on ABS-CBN. (Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam