Mandapat repeats in Apache golf

-A A +A

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

FORMER councilor and Department of Transportation and Communications regional director Federico Mandapat Jr. had a four over 65 for 50 Molave points to become the top winner anew in this year's Apaches Golf Tournament at the Baguio Country Club golf course Saturday.

Mandapat took the regulars Class A title and beat Korean national Kim Kyung Hoo by two points, even as son-in-law Earle Farrell took third place in the same division with 45 Molave points.

Mandapat, likewise took the over-all Apaches low gross with his 65, with Farrell coming in second with his 45 and nip Manny Solis who came in with 44 points, of the annual tournament bankrolled by the University of Baguio, Eva Pinoy's, Baguio Representative Nicasio Aliping Jr., Nevada Square, Sherwood and BCC.


Mandapat's grandson, TJ Farrel meanwhile took the Jungolf B crown with his 95 and 20 Molave points in the event backed by Child and Family Service, Shell - Abanao, Benguet Police Provincial Office under SSUpt. Rudolfo Azurin, 18 BC, mayor Mauricio Domogan, councilor Richard Carino, JFernandez, Ricky Ducusin and Charlie Torres, Jomarcann Construction, Goldrich, Roger and Ruby Manzano, Pilipino Telephone Company, Miescor, Bayantel, Davies Paints, RMN Dynamics, Wooshin, Interlink Security, Maybank, Axa, Baguio’s Finest Security Agency, Intermed, Rocky Runez, Mannix Nerona, John Vincent Go, Microtel, Nature Spring and Just Add Color.

Mandapat had a lone birdie and four bogeys en route to his 50 points in the event where par is worth three, two for bogey and one for a double bogey.

Teddy Cheong nipped two others for the class B crown with his 41 even as Martin Azurin and Swanny Mangaoang had similar 75 for 40 points, with the former taking in the higher trophy.

Apache chief and councilor Richard Carino had 39 points to nip contractor Tito Abansi by a mark for the class C title. Christian Bautista, playing off his family's University of Baguio was third place with his 81 and 34 points.

Baguio mayor Mauricio Domogan was the runaway winner in senior's A with his 80 and 37 points, and a seven shot win on Angel Agustin.

Sonny San Pedro, a former Apache chief, had a nine stroke victory in senior's B, with Sonny Fagyan coming in second with 18, while newbie and immediate past chief Jun Tabanda came in third with 11 points.

Janjan Dacawi had 39 for a seven shot win over Evan Obrera in Jungolf A.
Rachelle Julian took the Ladies A crown with her 34 points, while Mel Donato and Jane Aslor took the first and second places in Ladies B. (PR)

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on April 03, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!