Baguio riders included in Golden Wheel awards

-A A +A

Friday, March 7, 2014

TWO OF the country's most promising young riders from the Summer Capital were recently included in the prestigious 11th Golden Wheel Awards at the SM Aura in Taguig City.

Motocross bikers Mia Villalon and JayPaul Samuel Wayet were among the recipients of the country's award giving body for motor sports.

The 11 year old Villalon and the eight years old Wayet were included in the awards ceremony for their achievements and milestones in the 2013 season which savors the success of inspiring Filipino drivers to pursue racing excellence. Villalon's latest exploits includes his first place finish in the junior 50cc category of the NAMSSA National motocross Championship recently in Bicutan and was the 3rd placer over-all in the Motocrosss Series in the ladies side.


Wayet, meanwhile placed second for the junior 50 CC event also during the NAMSSA National motocross Championship event.

The Golden Wheel Foundation through the annual Golden Wheel Awards Night savored the success of inspiring Filipino drivers to pursue racing excellence. On its 11th year, the theme ‘Geared Towards Progress, Growth, and Maturity’ aptly imparts the Golden Wheel Foundation’s next phase of vision to push global recognition of great Filipino racing talent by creating more Marlon Stockingers and Enzo Pastors who will make it big in such prestigious international racing events such as Formula 1, Indy 500, and NASCAR.

The awardees include Johnlery Enriquez (Scooters), Niño Fabian (Underbone racing), Dashi Watanabe (Superbikes), Glenn Aguilar (Motocross), Daniel Miranda (Karting), Gio Rodriguez (Drifting), Peewee Mendiola, MD (Slalom), Edison Dungca (4x4 Off Road), Bryan Bautista (Classic Cars), Jody Coseteng (Grand Touring) and Jonathan Tiu (Drag Racing).

Netto is a highly respected race official in international racing scene who has also served as steward in the premiere Formula One Racing Championship, the Asia-Pacific Rallye Championship as well as the Asian Karting Open Championships.

Joining the major awardees are motocross legend Edward Butch Chase who will be the eighth motorsports great to be elevated to the Hall-of-Fame and two Singaporeans – Mohammad Nasri Naufal Bin Nasir and Gabriella Teo – who will also receive their Golden Wheel trophies for their impressive feats as the overall Asian Karting champion and Asian Karting Junior champ, respectively, in last year’s Asian Karting Open Championships.

Stockinger will be the pioneer recipient of the Motorsports Lifetime Achievement Award for his feats as national karting champion, Asian Karting champion, Golden Wheel awardee and the first Filipino racer in Formula 1 Junior Lotus Team while Jose "Boy" Ochoa Jr. will be given the Posthumous Motorsports Lifetime Achievement award for his contributions as race driver and race steward.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on March 08, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!