UCLHS all set for NBTC nationals

-A A +A

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

NORTHERN Luzon champion University of the Cordilleras Laboratory High School gears up to test their basketball skills against other competing teams nationwide as the NBTC Elite D-League National High School Championships opens today at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City.

A total of 24 high school champion cagers from all over the country, bracketed in two divisions, will comprise the cast of NBTC Elite finalist set March 6-9.

UCLHS will be battling for position in Division 2, where they will scuffle against teams including De La Salle University-Lipa, Jesus the Loving Shepherd (Naga), Divine World Academy (Dagupan), Olongapo City National, University of Assumption (San Fernando, Pampanga), Bethel Baptist Christian (Bukidnon), Mandaue City, College of San Benilde, Trinity University of Asia, Reedley International School, and Jubilee Christian Academy.


Meanwhile, in Division 1 are St. Francis of Assisi College (North Cavite), Sacred Heart School-Ateneo and University of San Carlos (Cebu), West Negros College (Bacolod), Iloilo Central Commercial High, Sacred Heart of Jesus Montessori (Cagayan de Oro), Southern City College (Zamboanga) and qualifiers from the Metro Manila Basketball League (MMBL) Chiang Kai Shek, Hope Christian High and National University (Teams A and B).

UCLHS head coach Jennifer Dindin said earlier the team will have a better preparation and hopefully a better finish in the competition they participated back in 2012.

“We focused in improving the team’s level of play so at least we can finish better for this season come the nationals,” Dindin said.

“At least we’ll go there more prepared unlike the previous time that we instantly travelled to compete there after winning the regionals,” Dindin added.

Other scheduled games will be also played at the Meralco gym presented by Seaoil and backed by the MVP Sports Foundation, Meralco, Smart, NLEX, Maynilad, Philex Mining Corporation, Philippine Star and Molten.

The Seaoil HS All Star-Game, along with the championship of Division 1 and Division 2 will be played on March 9 at the Ynares Sports Arena.

NBTC Elite D-League serves as the official grassroots development program of the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on March 06, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!