Wushu medalist leads Kafagway awards

-A A +A

Saturday, January 18, 2014

WORLD wushu gold medalist Benjie Rivera together with the members of the Philippine wushu team who saw action in the 27th Southeast Asian games will lead the cast of awardees in the annual Kafagway Sports Achievers Award which will be held today, January 18.

Rivera will receive the most coveted ‘Athlete of the Decade’ award by the National Correspondents Club of Baguio in cooperation with the City Government in the recognition program set at the Justice George Malcolm Square.

SEAG gold medalist Daniel Parantac who won the mint in the taiju quan event during the biennial event held in Myanmar will receive the ‘Athlete of the Year’ honors.


Parantac together with his teammate John Keithley Chan also pocketed the silver medal in the taijian quilian sword event.

Other awardees in the wushu-taulu Baguio-CAR internationalists are sanda silver medallist Divine Wally, duilian team bronze medallist Kariza Kris Chan and Natasha Enriquez, junior players Alison Ken Omengan, Faith Diana Andaya and Vanessa Chan.

Mayor Mauricio Domogan and Rep. Nicasio Aliping Jr. will be among the special guest in the occasion together with Engr. Leopoldo Escano, executive director of the Filipino-Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc. and Prof. Federico Balanag, president-CEO of the BARP Foundation among others.

The KSAA honorees include 27th SEAG Team Philippine members silver medallist Helen Dawa, Greco-Roman wrestling silver medallist Jason Balaba, women’s boxing division bronze medalist Maricris Igam and athletics (hammer throw) bronze medalist Arniel Ferrera.

Multi-titlist chess master Heridas Pascua of the University of Baguio, Fil-am golf parbusters Fred Puckeet, mixed martial arts ace Kevin Belingon and pro-boxer Rex Wa-o are also in the honor roll.

The Wushu Federation of the Philippines-Cordillera headed by its president Tony Candelaria was chosen as the Team of the Year for showcasing extraordinary leadership and exemplary performance by its wushu stalwarts in the SEAG 2013 edition.

Veteran sports leader and founder of Team Lakay Mark Sangiao won the top honors as Sportsman of the Decade.

The FJFNL, Inc. headed by former honorary consul Carlos Teraoka of the Japanese Embassy in Manila was cited as Sports of the Year 2013. Car racing champion Carlos Anton and senior citizen javelin thrower Erlinda Lavandia will get special awards.

The program which starts at 9am will open with a prayer dedicated to the present and past athletes and sportsmen including those who departed to join the eternal coach up above.

All Baguio-Car athletes who were in Team Philippines in the 27th SEAG will be presented medallions of excellence with the Fil-Jap Foundation as the award presenter. (Roderick Osis)

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on January 18, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Papal Visit
  • Pacman blog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam