Council Designates Liga President as Temporary Chair of the Committee on Youth and Sports Development Committee

-A A +A

By Briccio Cesar Domondon

The Council Reports

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

AFTER obtaining the opinion of the National Barangay Operations Office of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) thru a reply letter from its Officer-in-Charge (OIC) Director Leocadio T. Trovela, the city council finally acted on the vacancy created in the Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP) Standing Committee on Youth Welfare and Sports Development with the appointment of LIGA president and ex-oficio city councilor Michael Lawana as temporary chairman of the said committee.

It may be recalled that the chairmanship of the SP committee on Youth Welfare and Sports Development was previously held by then Sangguniang Kabataan Federation President and ex-oficio city councilor Karminn Cheryl Dinney Yangot. The chairmanship of the said committee by the SK Federation President and ex-oficio sangguniang member is by virtue of paragraph (c) of Section 438 Chapter 9 of Book III of Republic Act 7160 otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991. That particular provision of the Local Government Code provides that, “(c) the pederasyon president or vice-president, as the case may be, shall be the chairman of the committee on youth and sports development of the sanggunian concerned”. Likewise in paragraph (a) of Section 438 of the same law it states that, “a sangguniang kabataan chairman shall, upon certification of his election by the Comelec and during his tenure of office is elected as pederasyon president, serve as an ex-officio member of the sanggunian panlalawigan, sangguniang panlungsod, and sangguniang bayan, as the case may be, without need of further appointment”.

It may be recalled further that in October of 2013 President Benigno S. Aquino III approved into law Republic Act 10632 also known as “An Act to Postpone the Sangguniang Kabataan Elections on October 28, 2013, Amending for the Purpose Republic Act 9340, and for Other Purposes”.


With the enactment of the above law the chairmanship of the committee on Youth Welfare and Sports Development was effectively vacated at the end of 2013 up to the present.

In relation to the above, the members of the august body in a previous regular session deliberated on filling up the said vacancy in the committee but delayed further action pending comments from the DILG on the said matter.

Last Monday the city council received the opinion of the National Barangay Operations Office of the DILG relayed thru its City Director Evelyn Trinidad which stated that, based on the laws cited above, “in the absence of the SK Federation President who is the Chairperson of the said committee, the Vice-Chair shall temporarily act as the Chair of the same, and shall handle all issues and concerns relative to the welfare of the youth and sports development in the city level. In case there is no vice-chairperson, it is suggested that the temporary Chairperson of the said committee be selected from among the committee members, xxx”. In considering the opinion of the DILG, the members of the city council agreed with the conformity of the members of the committee to designate ex-ficio city councilor and LIGA President Michael Lawana as temporary chairperson until such time that a new SK Federation President shall have been chosen. In the discussion for the selection of councilor Lawana as temporary chair of the said committee it was also the consensus of his colleagues that his (the latter) being directly involved with the affairs of the barangays, where the SK previously holds representation, puts him in a better position to supervise the said committee.

In a related matter, with the appointment of councilor Lawana as chair of the committee on Youth Welfare and Sports Development the city council may also wish to revisit a previous resolution they had previously passed (Resolution Numbered 050 series of 2014), which designated all the city councilors as members of the said committee.

Finally, the duration for councilor Lawana to serve as temporary chair of the said committee may be ascertained from the provisions of the IRR of R.A. 10632 particularly in Section 1 of Rule 2 thereof which states that, “xxx The SK elections on October 28, 2013 shall be postponed to a date to be determined by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) between October 28, 2014 and February 23, 2015”.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on July 23, 2014.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • Calamity Report
  • Pacman blog
  • Papal Visit
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Pnoy
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Obituary
  • goodearth
  • Habemus Papam
  • Festivals
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper