CPRAT Orientation Workshop

-A A +A

By Nerie Bayan

ABC Reports

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

THE Department of the Interior and Local Government Baguio led by Dir. Evelyn Trinidad spearheaded the conduct of the CSO Assembly and CPRAT Orientation Workshop at the Sarmiento Hall, Alumni Building, University of the Philippines – Baguio on February 5-6, 2013. The 2-day workshop is follows the procedures as provided for under DBM-DILG-DSWD-NAPC Joint Memorandum Circular No. 3, Series of 2012 which pertains to the implementation of Bottom-Up Budgeting (BuB) for the FY 2014 Budget Preparations.

There were 13 participating Civil Society Organizations (CSO) in the said workshop. The district coordinators from the 20 barangay districts were also present as the CSO’s and the CPRAT’s partners in the grassroots level. The City Poverty Reduction Action Team is headed by the city mayor with the City Social Welfare and Development Officer as vice-chair and action officer. The members of the action team includes council chairperson on Ways and Means and Finance Committee Vice Mayor Daniel Fariñas; council chairperson on Social Services, Women and Urban poor, Hon. Betty Lourdes Tabanda; council chairman on urban housing Hon. Isabelo Cosalan, Jr. and Liga President and City Councilor Hon. Joel A. Alangsab. The Regional Director of the Department of Labor-CAR, DILG – Baguio City Director, City School Division Superintendent, BCPO Director, City Health Officer and the Chief of the Special Services Division of the Mayor’s Office are also members. The members from the civil society organizations were identified during the said assembly to include: the Parent-Teachers Association, a representative from the business sector BCCI; BBPCAG, BALC, FARAD, FBASECA, NORLU, PUDNO, Federation of the BCPC and Pro-Life. BALC representative Judith Maranes was elected as the co-chairperson of the CPRAT.

The team must come up with the Local Poverty Reduction Action Plan (LPRAP). The list of priority poverty reduction projects duly endorsed by the CSOs and approved by the Sangguniang Panlungsod must be submitted to the Regional Poverty Reduction Action Team (RPRAT) through the DILG Region Office on or before February 15, 2013 for the said plans to be funded under the national government in the amount of fifteen million. DBM Regional Director Liza Fangsilat advised the team not to limit the programs to be included in the plan to 15 million as the city has a counterpart of 4.5 million or 30% of the total funding from the national government. Furthermore, there could be other sources to fund the said projects. However, the very priority programs of the team which could be identified under the LPRAP shall be endorsed to be funded under the 15 million from the national government. The LPRAP projects and programs shall be implemented in 2014.


Liga President Hon. Joel Alangsab during his message acknowledged the presence of the CSOs being the indispensable partners of the city in this program. He likewise recognized the presence of the punong barangays representing the 20 barangay districts of the barangays of the city who are the city’s partners in the grassroots level. He likewise pledged to do his part in the sangguniang panlungsod to acquire the needed approval and endorsement.

Congratulations all the participating barangays to the Search for Best Christmas Trees in the Barangays and to the winners who were awarded during the January 30, 2013 Liga General Assembly. The awardees are: triple tied on tenth place are Dominican-Mirador Barangay led by PB Remedios Laigo, Happy Homes-Old Lucban Barangay headed by PB Eva Marie Fianza, and Hillside Barangay headed by PB Ferdinand Bucad. Tied on ninth place are Lourdes Extension Barangay headed by PB Benjamin Macadangdang and Teodora Alonzo Barangay led by PB Arnold Alimbuyao. On eight place is San Antonio Village Barangay headed by PB Elizabeth Manzanero, while seventh place was awarded to Irisan Barangay headed by PB Thomas Dumalti. Sixth place was awarded to Upper Quezon Hill Barangay headed by PB Leah Fariñas. City Camp Central Barangay headed by Hon. Joel Alangsab was awarded fifth place. PMA-Fort del Pilar Barangay headed by PB Rolando Martos was awarded fourth place. On third place was Scout Barrio Barangay headed by PB Emmanuel Bacungan, Jr. while second place was awarded to Upper Dagsian Barangay led by PB Clarence Lingwayon. First place was awarded to City Camp Proper Barangay headed by PB Aurora Abellera.

Liga President and City Councilor Hon. Joel Alangsab expressed that these simple projects and programs are somewhat reflective of the barangays’ support to the programs of the government with regards to solid waste management. It is hoped that the proper recycling and reusing of non-biodegradable will somewhat reduce the bulk of solid waste.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on February 07, 2013.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
  • ePaper
  • Sinulog
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Calamity Report
  • Philippine Polls
  • Pnoy
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Pacman blog
  • Festivals
  • Technology
  • Papal Visit
  • goodearth
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Obituary
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Habemus Papam
  • tell it to sunstar